Department of History, UCC  



Cork School of History

The Cork School of History achieved a high reputation for the quality of its research and teaching after the foundation of the Irish state. Under the aegis of a succession of prominent and productive scholars, including James Hogan, Oliver MacDonagh, John A. Murphy, Donnchadh Ó Corráin, Joe Lee, and Dermot Keogh, a history ethos emerged which was both distinctively Irish and confidently international. It has, in addition, always had a commitment to public service and to the promotion of historical studies beyond Cork itself.

To note only a few contributions from the names already mentioned: James Hogan was a founder member of the Irish Manuscripts Commission in 1928 and served on it for 35 years until his death in 1963. Hogan was assistant editor and editor of the Commissions periodical, Analecta Hibernia, from 1931 until his death; Murphy and Lee served in Seanad Éireann, Ó Corráin conceived the CELT project, and Keogh is today leading what continues to be a highly productive History Department. Its recent publication record and commitment to public service enhances even further the ethos established from the outset.




Rock of Cashel