President's Awards for Excellence in Teaching 2016/17

5 Oct
Professor John O’Halloran, Vice-President for Teaching & Learning; Dr Malgorzata Krasnodebska-D’Aughton, School of History; Dr Tim O’Sullivan, School of Pharmacy and School of Chemistry; Dr Jillian Rogers, School of Music & Theatre; Dr Jackelina Pando-Kelly, School of Medicine; Dr Patrick O’Shea, President of UCC; and Thomas Randles, Group Finance Director PFH Technology Group.

Congratulations to this year’s winners of the President’s Awards for Excellence in Teaching at UCC. Dr Malgorzata Krasnodebska-D’Aughton, School of History, Dr Tim O’Sullivan, School of Pharmacy and School of Chemistry, Dr Jackelina Pando-Kelly, School of Medicine, and Dr Jillian Rogers, School of Music & Theatre had their teaching excellence recognised by student and peer nominations.

Proudly sponsored by PFH Technology Group, a company with a long history of engagement with UCC, the awards were presented by Professor Patrick O’Shea, UCC President, at a ceremony in the Aula Maxima on the evening of Thursday October 6th. These awards, launched by the OVPTL in April, recognise outstanding contributions to teaching excellence, by individuals or teams, that positively impact on student learning and enhance the quality of teaching at UCC. 

UCC has been running awards schemes for teaching excellence since 2004, but this new scheme at OVPTL invited students to nominate their excellent teachers, and this was the first time that students were directly involved, as partners, in the process. For this year’s awards, nominations were accepted from students, colleagues, alumni and also from individuals themselves. Following on from the success of this scheme, the direct involvement of students will be a feature of all Teaching Excellence Awards at UCC in the future.

Office of the VP for Teaching and Learning

Oifig an Leasuachtaráin don Teagasc agus Foghlaim

East Wing, Main Quadrangle, UCC