Skip to main content

Green Forum

About

The Green Forum draws its members from across the college community and includes staff and student representatives, and key personnel with responsibilities in relation to the sustainability strategy. Chaired by President John O’Halloran and Mark Poland (Director of Buildings and Estates), the forum meets twice annually to drive forward the Green Campus project and sustainability within UCC.

If you wish to be a representative for a particular group/area please contact us: greencampus@ucc.ie

A message from the Chairs of the Green Forum

Autumn 2022 marks twelve years since UCC students began an initiative that would lead to the development of the Green Campus Programme, not just on our campus but across the world.   In the years that have followed, UCC is proud to have been the first university in the world to be awarded a Green Flag.  We were also the first to successfully renew our Green Flag twice, and to achieve ISO 50001 accreditation for energy management.  We continue to maintain our strong standing in global metrics of Green Universities and actively contribute to the sustainable campus agenda on an international level.

We are continually making efforts to improve our impact on the environment and build on the excellent “grassroots” initiatives that are being undertaken in departments and buildings across the campus.  You can read more about these initiatives in the pages of this website.  The mission of our Green Campus is that all our activities are ‘student led, research informed and practice focused’.  This mission continues our long tradition of independent thinking and citizenship, and was further reinforced with the publication of UCC’s Sustainability Strategy in July 2016.  In May 2017, a Sustainability Officer was appointed to lead on the delivery of this strategy.

As chairs of the Green Forum, we welcome the involvement of the entire campus community in our sustainability initiatives and recognise the immense contributions that both staff and students have made over the last ten years to make our campus more sustainable.  We hope to continue these efforts over the coming years, and to further UCC’s role in contributing to a more sustainable society.

President John O’Halloran and Mark Poland Director of Buildings and Estates (Green Forum Co-Chairs)

Green Forum Members

President and Professor John O'Halloran President and Green Forum Co-Chair president@ucc.ie 
Mark Poland Director Buildings and Estates and Green Forum Co-Chair markpoland@ucc.ie 
Maria Kirrane Head of Sustainability and Climate Action Office m.kirrane@ucc.ie 
Colm Foley UCC SU President president@uccsu.ie 
Dearbhla Richardson Green Campus Committee Co-Chair/Students Union Environmental and Sustainability Representative.  enviromental@uccsocieties.ie 
Hayley O'Connell Vaughan Green Campus Committee Co-Chair/Students Union Communications and Engagement Officer.  engagement@uccsu.ie 
Paul Prendergast Buildings Officer pprendergast@ucc.ie
Michelle McCarthy PA to Buildings Officer  michelle.mccarthy@ucc.ie
Pat Mehigan Energy and Utilities Manager p.mehigan@ucc.ie 
Oliver Cunningham Energy and Utilities Administrator oliver.cunningham@ucc.ie
Dr Dean Venables Department of Chemistry d.venables@ucc.ie 
Stephan Koch Commuter Plan Manager s.koch@ucc.ie 
Imelda Sheehan Commuter Plan Administrator i.sheehan@ucc.ie
Barrie Curley Grounds Maintenance B&E b.curley@ucc.ie 
Aidan O'Dwyer Services Co-ordinator B&E a.odwyer@ucc.ie 
Tim Cronin Capital Projects, Buildings and Estates tim.cronin@ucc.ie 
Niamh McGettrick Administrative Manager, B&E n.mcgettrick@ucc.ie
Professor Fiona Kearney Director, Lewis Glucksman Gallery f.kearney@ucc.ie 
Professor Hannah Daly Sustainable Energy, School of Engineering h.daly@ucc.ie 
Dr Avril Hutch Director, EDI ahutch@ucc.ie 
Professor John Cryan VP for Research & Innovation j.cryan@ucc.ie 
Professor Aine Ryall Centre for Law & The Environment a.ryall@ucc.ie 
Dr Marguerite Nyhan Sustainable Futures Lab, School of Engineering marguerite.nyhan@ucc.ie 
Dara Fitzpatrick Department of Chemistry d.fitzpatrick@ucc.ie 
Dr Michael Byrne Student Health m.byrne@ucc.ie 
Brendan O'Sullivan Department of Geography brendan.osullivan@ucc.ie 
Professor Edmond Byrne Department of Engineering e.byrne@ucc.ie 
Dr Catherine O'Mahony CIRTL catherine.omahony@ucc.ie 
Dr Christie Godsmark Public Health + ERI + CATCH Project  christie.godsmark@ucc.ie 
Dr Annalisa Setti Cork NeuroScience CNS Centre a.setti@ucc.ie 
Jason McMahon Student Accommodation/Castlewhite Manager  cwmanager@ucc.ie 
Cillian Cashman Hospitalty Manager, Kylemore Services Group ucchospitality@ksg.ie 
Terry Brennan Students Centre t.brennan@ucc.ie 
Fiona Thomson Procurement Manager fiona.thomson@ucc.ie 
Katarzyna Sroka  Bidvest Noonan katarzyna.sroka@bidvestnoonan.com  
Dr Niall Dunphy CPPU n.dunphy@ucc.ie 
Dr Paul Bolger ERI p.bolger@ucc.ie 
Dr Eoin Lettice School of BEES e.lettice@ucc.ie 
Professor Brian O'Gallachoir Department of Engineering b.ogallachoir@ucc.ie 
Dr Ger Mullally Department of Sociology & Criminology g.mullally@ucc.ie 
JP Quinn Office of Marketing and Brand Impact jp.quinn@ucc.ie  
Donna O'Driscoll Office of Marketing and Brand Impact donnaodriscoll@ucc.ie 
Dr Claire O'Neill Management and Marketing claireoneill@ucc.ie 
Gemma McConigly Societies Officer gmcconigly@ucc.ie
Chloe Boland Societies President president@uccsocieties.ie
Dr Ruth Hally CIRTL ruth.hally@ucc.ie

Office of Sustainability and Climate Action

An Oifig um Inbhuanaitheacht agus Gníomhú ar son na hAeráide

G.08 North Wing, Main Quadrangle, University College Cork, Western Road, Cork T12 K8AF,

Top