UCC Science for All 2017

4 Apr 2017
Finalists of the Science for All Competition announced! Pictured L-R: Stephanie Flynn, Darren Reidy, Elaine Enright, Andrés Molina, Katie Togher and Ciara O'Donovan.

Sharing Science without the Jargon at UCC

Would you like to know more about your microbes or solar energy or the alien plants in our rivers and lakes?

These are just some of the exciting talks about cutting edge science which will be battling it out to win 1st place at the UCC Science for All Final Competition on the 5th of April. 

The final takes place in University College Cork’s Western Gateway Building lecture theatre G05 at 6.15pm on Wednesday, 5th April. All are welcome and admission is free. 

The science communication competition, now in its 13th year, challenges young scientists to share the excitement of their research with the general public in an easily understandable manner, without using jargon.

Snatch Comedy, will provide a dose of their fabulous unpredictable Improv-sketches for the intermission.

MC for the final is Dr Fergus McAuliffe, TV presenter on "The Science Squad", and "10 Things to Know About..."  and Education, Public Engagement and Communications Manager at the Science Foundation Ireland-funded  iCRAG - Irish Centre for Research in Applied Geosciences.  Fergus is a previous winner of Famelab Ireland and Famelab International, the HEA “Making an Impact” competition,  UCC Science for All and UCC Doctoral Showcase.

The panel of judges will be chaired by Mr John Dolan, Features Editor, Evening Echo and also includes Ms Liz Dooley, Director Operations (Biologics) Janssen and Ms Donna O’Driscoll, Director of Marketing & Communications, UCC.

Professor Paul Ross, Head of the College of Science, Engineering and Food Science, UCC said “The Science for All Competition is a great medium for students to acquire or enhance their communication skills and competencies.  It provides them with a wonderful platform to showcase their research and relay their passion and knowledge on their subject matter to the general public in a relaxed and educational manner”.


The line-up for this year's final includes:


Gut bacteria and medicines: “bugging” you to keep your health “afloat”

Elaine Enright, School of Pharmacy, APC Microbiome Institute


Bile; the unusual suspect in lung disease

Stephanie Flynn, School of Microbiology


From photosynthesis to solar energy conversion - a chemical approach

Andrés Molina, Department of Chemistry


“Never travelling alone”: the impact of travel on the gut microbiota

Ciara O’ Donovan, School of Microbiology, Teagasc, APC Microbiome Institute


Swimming with the Enemy; Getting to Know the Aliens in Our Rivers & Lakes

Darren Reidy, School of BEES


Happy Mum, Happy Microbiome?

Katie Togher, Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology, Infant/ APC Microbiome Institute


The competition is organised jointly by the College of Science, Engineering and Food Science, and two Science Foundation Ireland funded research centres: the APC Microbiome Institute ( and the Irish Photonics Integration Centre (

The final takes place in University College Cork’s Western Gateway Building lecture theatre G05 at 6.15pm on Wednesday 5th April. All are welcome and admission is free. 

For more on this story contact:

For further information please contact Dr Catherine Buckley, Communications & Outreach Manager, APC Microbiome Institute 086 8554744;

College of Science, Engineering and Food Science

Coláiste na hEolaíochta, na hInnealtóireachta agus na hEolaíochta Bia

Block E, Level 3, Food Science Building, UCC, Cork