SEFS Athena SWAN Steering Group

The College of SEFS Athena SWAN Steering Group is part of the University Steering Group which acitvely supports the Athena SWAN Charter.

The Athena SWAN Charter recognises and celebrates good practice in recruiting, retaining and promoting women in science, technology, engineering, maths and medicine (STEMM) in higher education. The Charter aims to address gender imbalances in STEMM disciplines, based on the belief that endeavours in these fields will be enriched when they can benefit from the talent of the whole population, and when barriers to progress in academic careers are removed.  Further information on UCC and Athena SWAN is available at this link: Athena SWAN UCC

The current SEFS Athena SWAN Steering Group membership is as follows:

Chair: Professor John Wenger: Professor, School of Chemistry

Professor Astrid Wingler: Professor of Plant Biology, School of BEES

Dr Bryan Kelleher, Lecturer, Department of Physics

Ms Clodagh McAllen: Senior Executive Assistant, School of Mathematical Sciences

Dr Tom Moore: Senior Lecturer, School of Biochemistry and Cell Biology

Ms Kate O’Brien: College Manager, College of Science, Engineering and Food Science

Ms Helen O’Donoghue: HR Business Partner for Science, Engineering and Food Science

Ms Tricia O’Shaughnessy: Projects Officer, College of Science, Engineering and Food Science 

Dr Aoife O’Sullivan: Technical Officer, School of Chemistry

Professor Paul Ross: Head of College of Science, Engineering and Food Science

Dr Paolo Palmieri: Lecturer, Department of Computer Science

Dr Therese Uniacke-Lowe: Senior Technical Officer, School of Food and Nutritional Sciences

Dr Paul Bolger: Manager, Environmental Research Institute

Ms Claire Tobin: School Manager, School of Chemistry

Dr Denis Kelliher: Lecturer, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering

Appointment Pending: Postdoctoral Representative

Ms Niamh Kavanagh: Postgraduate Representative, Tyndall

Professor Anita Maguire/Dr Nóirín Uí Bhreithiúnaigh: Vice President for Research and Innovation

Ms Ann King: Athena SWAN Project Officer

Dr Jennifer Mahony: School of Microbiology, APC Microbiome Institute

Mr Hugh Smiddy/Professor Cian Ó Mathuna: Tyndall National Institute

Ms Alysha Walsh/Ms Elsie O'Gorman: WiSTEM 

College of Science, Engineering and Food Science

Coláiste na hEolaíochta, na hInnealtóireachta agus na hEolaíochta Bia

Block E, Level 3, Food Science Building, UCC, Cork