UCC Research Awards 2017

11 Oct 2017
UCC Staff Awards 2017 - group photo

University College Cork honours the outstanding contribution of staff to advancing the research mission of the institution.

On 5th October, at a ceremony in the Aula Maxima, UCC honoured staff for their outstanding contributions to University life including advancing the research mission of the institution. The Awards Ceremony combined presentations and accolades to winners from three separate award schemes: Teaching & Learning, Staff Recognition and Research.

The Research Awards acknowledged excellence in research activity across seven categories and were sponsored by Gilead Sciences Ireland, represented at the event by Ruth Gould, Senior Director Quality. 

Professor Anita Maguire, Vice President Research & Innovation, stated "this programme aims to recognise those researchers and research support personnel who have made exceptional and very influential research contributions, pushing boundaries, enhancing knowledge and raising the national and international profile of University College Cork. This programme showcases the very best of research and researchers at UCC.

The 2017 winners of the UCC Research awards were:

Early-Stage Researcher of the Year

  • Dr Cara Levey - Department of Spanish, Portuguese and Latin American Studies
  • Dr Maria Cahill - School of Law

Research Communicator of the Year

  • Professor John Cryan - Department of Anatomy & Neuroscience/ APC Microbiome Institute

Research Supervisor of the Year

  • Dr Fatima Gunning - Photonics Systems Group, Tyndall National Institute
  • Professor Josephine Hegarty - School of Nursing and Midwifery

Research Support Person of the Year

  • Julie Donnelly - Tyndall National Institute

Research Team of the Year

  • GENOVATE - ISS-21/ College of Arts, Celtic Studies and Social Sciences/ College of Business and Law/ College of Medicine and Health/ Equality Committee/ UCC Research Support Services

Researcher of the Year

  • Professor Barry O'Sullivan - Department of Computer Science/ Insight Centre for Data Analytics

Career Achievement Research Award

  • Dr Alan Mathewson - Micro-Nano Systems Centre, Tyndall National Institute


Research and Innovation

Taighde agus Nuálaíocht

Office of Vice President for Research & Innovation 4th Floor Block E, Food Science Building UCC