Royal Irish Academy honours Catherine Stanton and Ivan Perry

24 May 2019
UCC Professors Ivan Perry and Catherine Stanton have been welcomed as new Members of the Royal Irish Academy.

UCC Professors Catherine Stanton and Ivan Perry have today been admitted as members of the Royal Irish Academy (RIA), in recognition of their achievements in science. 

Professor Kennedy, President of the Royal Irish Academy, welcomed 27 eminent scholars as new Members. and said that "these individuals have made exceptional contributions in their fields of endeavour. We are delighted to recognise their achievements."

Ivan Perry is professor of Public Health and dean of the School of Public Health at University College Cork. He is an epidemiologist with an international profile in public health nutrition. Since 2008, he has been principal investigator on the Health Research Board’s Centre for Health and Diet Research—one of Europe’s leading interdisciplinary centres of excellence in public health nutrition.

Catherine Stanton is a senior principal research officer at Teagasc and a research professor at University College Cork. She has published hundreds of research papers on the molecular analysis of food components that impact on human nutrition and health. She has a h-index of 88 and has been awarded a D.Sc. She is also a founding principal investigator at the APC Microbiome Ireland research institute.

The new Members of the Royal Irish Academy elected in 2019 are:

Liam Barry (Dublin City University); Yvonne Buckley (Trinity College Dublin); Andrew Fowler (University of Limerick); Yuri Gunko (Trinity College Dublin); Alan Irvine (Trinity College Dublin); Paul Moynagh (Maynooth University); Valeria Nicolosi (Trinity College Dublin); Ivan Perry (University College Cork); Catherine Stanton (University College Cork); Michael Zaworotko (University of Limerick).

Humanities and Social Sciences
Alan Barrett (ESRI); Paolo Bartoloni (NUI Galway); Christine Casey (Trinity College Dublin); William Crawley (BBC); Diarmaid Ferriter (University College Dublin); Alison Forrestal (NUI Galway); Moyra Haslett (Queen’s University Belfast); Tom Lodge (University of Limerick); Kieran McEvoy (Queen’s University Belfast); Fearghal McGarry (Queen’s University Belfast); Dáithí O’Ceallaigh; Olivia O’Leary (RTE); Rowland Stout (University College Dublin); Isabel Torres (Queen’s University Belfast).

Honorary Members
Fionnuala Ní Aoláin (University of Minnesota); John O’Keefe (University College London) and Richard Sharpe (Oxford University).

There are 606 Members of the Royal Irish Academy (of whom 87 are Honorary or overseas Members) including: William C. Campbell, Nobel Laureate, Louise Richardson, Vice-Chancellor of the University of Oxford; Mary E Daly, historian and Commissioner, Mother and Baby Homes Commission of Investigation; Brian MacCraith, physicist and President of Dublin City University; Frances Ruane, economist and Chair of the Abbey Theatre board; and Eavan Boland, poet.

Those elected are entitled to use the designation ‘MRIA’ after their name. Past Members have included Maria Edgeworth, a pioneer of the modern novel and Nobel laureates WB Yeats; Ernest Walton, Erwin Schrödinger and Seamus Heaney.

The Royal Irish Academy (RIA) also announced plans to establish a young academy for Ireland’s top young researchers in the sciences and humanities during the launch of its five-year Strategic Plan today.

Members of the young academy will be selected for their academic excellence and their commitment to public service. Jocelyn Bell Burnell, Hon MRIA, who chaired the RIA Strategic Plan Committee said, "the initiative will create a more diverse Academy and a new advocate for Irish research and scholarship."

Research and Innovation

Taighde agus Nuálaíocht

Office of Vice President for Research & Innovation 4th Floor Block E, Food Science Building UCC