DPR News

2019 L’Oreal Unesco UK Ireland for Women in Science Fellowship Awards

14 May 2019
2019 L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Jury Panel

The Deputy President and Registrar Professor John O'Halloran has been a jury panel member for the L’Oréal-UNESCO UK & Ireland For Women in Science National Fellowships Programme for many years. 

On 14th May 2019 Professor O'Halloran was a member of the jury that selected the five winners of the 2019 L’Oréal-UNESCO UK & Ireland For Women in Science National Fellowships Programme. The 2019 awards took place in The Royal Society in London on 15th May. 

The L’Oréal-UNESCO UK and Ireland Fellowships For Women In Science began 20 years ago to support accomplished women researchers, to encourage more women to enter the profession and to assist them in their careers. These awards offered by a partnership between L’Oréal UK & Ireland, the UK National Commission for UNESCO and the Irish National Commission for UNESCO, with the support of the Royal Society, to promote, enhance and encourage the contribution of women pursuing their research careers in the UK or Ireland in the fields of life, physical and computer sciences, engineering and mathematics. 

Five Fellowships were awarded in 2019 to outstanding women scientists in the early stages of their career to enable and/or facilitate promising scientific research. The Fellowships support a 12-month period of postdoctoral research and the value of each fellowship is £15,000. The Fellowships are designed to provide flexible support. The prize money can be spent in innovative ways to enable women scientists to pursue and continue their research careers – such as buying equipment, paying for childcare or funding travel costs to an overseas conference.

For more on this story contact:

Dr. Sandra Irwin, Deputy President & Registrar's Office, 021 4904874 or s.irwin@ucc.ie 

Deputy President & Registrar

First Floor, West Wing, Main Quadrangle, UCC, T12 YN60