Pharmacy Annual Prize-giving Ceremony Friday 30 October 2015

30 Oct 2015

The ninth Annual Pharmacy Prize-giving for the 2015 graduating class took place in the School of Pharmacy, this morning 30 October 2015, just prior to student graduation.    

Professor Stephen Byrne extended a warm welcome to parents (especially those who had travelled from overseas), graduates and staff.  The representatives of organizations who had donated prizes were thanked for their support and their continuing generosity was noted and appreciated by all.  

The prizes presented were:

The Cloyne Pharmacy Prize for the Most Improved Student over the BPharm was presented by Mr Dermot Twomey to Grainne McElligott


Abbvie Prize for excellence in Pharmaceutics was presented by Mr Mark Phelan and Ms Angela Haran, Abbvie Cork to Patrick O’Dwyer


Actavis Prize for excellence in Clinical Pharmacy was presented by Ms Margeurite Tierney, Product Manager, Actavis Ireland to Sinead O’Mahony.


Pharmaceutical Chemistry prize for excellence in Pharmaceutical Chemistry was presented by Dr Eileen O’Leary to Alison Taylor.  This prize was a hand made piece of glass, produced by Derry Kearney a glassblower in the Department of Chemistry


Pharmacology prize for excellence in Pharmacology was sponsored by the Department of Pharmacology and Therapeutics and presented by Dr Christian Waeber to Alice Nolan.


School of Pharmacy Medal for top student in the BPharm degree was presented by Professor Stephen Byrne, Head of School to Patrick O’Dwyer.


Two nominations for the Dr HH Stewart national prize were forwarded for consideration. This is a national competition  based on the results of the Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE). 

  • Caitriona O’Connor
  • Patrick O’Dwyer

The winner of this prize will be announced in mid November.



For the first time the School also presented prizes to two students under the heading of Exceptional Citizens and Future Leaders

Ciaran O’Hara who was class representative for the fours of the degree. Being class representative takes up so much time and effort but he stayed on that journey and was always so positive and passionate in his approach.


The second award went to Jason Hayes, in particular for his contribution to the Pharmacy Society.  While in third year the Society won the Best Society Award and he himself won a Star Award for his contribution to Societies


The School has been fortunate in the support it has received over the years from various quarters with respect to acknowledging students achievements. 


Mr Dermot Twomey from Cloyne Pharmacy has been supporting the Most Improved Student Prize since 2007 and this award is valued by students and staff alike.


For the first time Abbvie have sponsored a student prize for excellence in Pharmaceutics.  The School appreciated the support of Mr Mark Phelan, Site Director and Angela Haran, Senior Talent Acquisition Specialist who attended at the School today for the presentations.


The School of Pharmacy would like to acknowledge Actavis Ireland for their continuing sponsorship of their prize, and in particular to Ms Marguerite Tierney Product Manager, for taking the time out to present this award.  In difficult economic times support of this nature that acknowledges the students’ efforts is greatly valued by staff at the School.  

School of Pharmacy


Cavanagh Pharmacy Building Room UG06 University College Cork