People

Academic Staff

NamePositionTelephoneEmail

Prof Thomas Walther

Chair in Pharmacology and Head of Department

353 (0)21 420 5973

t.walther@ucc.ie

Prof David Kerins

Professor of Therapeutics‌

353 (0)21 420 5448

d.kerins@ucc.ie

Dr Ashley Allshire

Ashley Allshire

Senior Lecturer in

Pharmacology

353 (0)21 420 5974

a.allshire@ucc.ie

Dr Orla Patricia Barry

Orla P Barry

Lecturer in Pharmacology

353 (0)21 420 5493

o.barry@ucc.ie

Dr Barry Boland

Barry Boland

Lecturer in Pharmacology

353 (0)21 420 5977

barry.boland@ucc.ie

Dr Maria Buckley

Lecturer in Pharmacology

353 (0) 21 420 5976

maria.buckley@ucc.ie

Dr Patricia FitzGerald

Clinical Lecturer in

Pharmacology (PT)

353 (0)21 420 5488

patricia.fitzgerald@ ucc.ie

Dr Gerardene MeadeMurphy

GMM

Lecturer in Pharmacology

353 (0) 21 420 5733

gerardene.meade

murphy@ucc.ie

Dr Cathal McCarthy

Lecturer in Pharmacology

353 (0)21 420 5970

cmccarthy@ucc.ie

Dr Frank van Pelt

Frank van Pelt

Senior Lecturer in Toxicology / Biochemical Pharmacology

353 (0)21 420 5971

f.vanpelt@ucc.ie

Dr Christian Waeber

Christian Waeber

Senior Lecturer in Pharmacology in the School of Pharmacy

353 (0)21 490 1791

c.waeber@ucc.ie

Dr Paul Gallagher Consultant Geriatrician and Senior Lecturer in Medicine  

paul.gallagher@ucc.ie

 

 

Technical Staff

 

‌Name Position Telephone E-mail

Dr Anja Tetzner

Senior Technical Officer

353 (0)21 420 5492

anja.tetzner@ucc.ie

 Mr Jeff Hong Jie-Soh

 

Research Assistant - Technical

 

353 (0) 21 420 5492

 

jeff.hongjiesoh@ucc.ie

 Ms Jennifer Shearer

Research Assistant - Technical   jennifer.shearer@ucc.ie

Dr Juliana Lech Bernardoni

Dr Juliana Lech Bernardoni

Research Assistant - Technical 0214205492 

juliana.lechbernardoni@ucc.ie

Dr Hazal Yilmaz Research Assistant - Technical   

hazal.yilmaz@ucc.ie

 

Post-Doctoral Researchers and Industry Fellows

Name Position Contact Details Principal Investigator
Dr Gary Grant Postdoctoral Researcher at University College Cork working in the Department of Pharmacology and Therapeutics. Experienced Researcher with a demonstrated history of working in the higher education industry. Skilled in Angiogenesis, Signalling Pathway analysis, Statistical Data Analysis, Immunofluorescence, Project Management, and Western Blotting. Strong research professional with a Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) focused in Angiogeneisis and signal transduction from University of Leeds.

gary.grant@ucc.ie

353 (0) 21 420 5492

Prof Thomas Walther 
Dr Aleks Somogyi Post-Doctoral conducting research on an SFI multinational collaboration between participating Centres of Excellence in Neurodegeneration (COEN). This project is a collaboration between the Department of Pharmacology & Therapeutics, UCC, the Neurogenetics Laboratory in Cardiff University and Dr Cora O'Neill Dept. Biochemistry, UCC. aleksandra.somogyi@ucc.ie Dr Barry Boland

 

Post-Graduate Students

 

Name Program Supervisor Contact

Mr Tim Barnby

PhD Professor Thomas Walther timothy.barnby@ucc.ie

Ms Róisín Cassidy

MSc Dr Órla Patricia Barry 114444118@ucc.ie

Ms Andrea Diaz Diaz

PhD Dr Christian Waeber 116220385@umail.ucc.ie

Mr Kyle Malone

PhD

 Dr Christian Waeber/Dr Anne Moore

112316321@umail.ucc.ie

Ms Manna Samprikta

PhD Dr Cathal McCarthy samprikta.manna@ucc.ie

Ms Alicia Mateos Cardenas

PhD

Dr Frank van Pelt / Professor John O'Halloran / Professor Marcel Jansen

117222290@umail.ucc.ie

Mr Ziad Sartawi

PhD Dr Christian Waeber

116221278@umail.ucc.ie

Ms Jessica Tallis

MPHARM

Appel Programme

 

Professor Thomas Walther

 

115400622@umail.ucc.ie

 

 

 

Administrative Staff

Name Position Telephone Email

Joan Merryweather

Administration 353 (0)21 420 5947

joan.merryweather@ucc.ie

 

Department of Pharmacology and Therapeutics

Cógaseolaíocht agus Teiripic

2nd Floor, Western Gateway Building, University College Cork, Cork

Top