Academic Staff


Prof Thomas Walther

Chair in Pharmacology and Head of Department

353 (0)21 420 5973

Prof David Kerins

Professor of Therapeutics‌

353 (0)21 420 5448

Dr Ashley Allshire

Ashley Allshire

Senior Lecturer in


353 (0)21 420 5974

Dr Orla Patricia Barry

Orla P Barry

Lecturer in Pharmacology

353 (0)21 420 5493

Dr Barry Boland

Barry Boland

Lecturer in Pharmacology

353 (0)21 420 5977

Dr Maria Buckley

Lecturer in Pharmacology

353 (0) 21 420 5976

Dr Patricia FitzGerald

Clinical Lecturer in

Pharmacology (PT)

353 (0)21 420 5488


Dr Gerardene MeadeMurphy


Lecturer in Pharmacology

353 (0) 21 420 5733


Dr Cathal McCarthy

Lecturer in Pharmacology

353 (0)21 420 5970

Dr Frank van Pelt

Frank van Pelt

Senior Lecturer in Toxicology / Biochemical Pharmacology

353 (0)21 420 5971

Dr Christian Waeber

Christian Waeber

Senior Lecturer in Pharmacology in the School of Pharmacy

353 (0)21 490 1791

Dr Paul Gallagher Consultant Geriatrician and Senior Lecturer in Medicine



Technical Staff


‌Name Position Telephone E-mail

Dr Anja Tetzner

Senior Technical Officer

353 (0)21 420 5492

 Mr Jeff Hong Jie-Soh


Research Assistant - Technical


353 (0) 21 420 5492

 Ms Jennifer Shearer

Research Assistant - Technical

Dr Juliana Lech Bernardoni

Dr Juliana Lech Bernardoni

Research Assistant - Technical 0214205492

Dr Hazal Yilmaz Research Assistant - Technical


Post-Doctoral Researchers and Industry Fellows

Name Position Contact Details Principal Investigator
Dr Gary Grant Postdoctoral Researcher at University College Cork working in the Department of Pharmacology and Therapeutics. Experienced Researcher with a demonstrated history of working in the higher education industry. Skilled in Angiogenesis, Signalling Pathway analysis, Statistical Data Analysis, Immunofluorescence, Project Management, and Western Blotting. Strong research professional with a Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) focused in Angiogeneisis and signal transduction from University of Leeds.

353 (0) 21 420 5492

Prof Thomas Walther 
Dr Aleks Somogyi Post-Doctoral conducting research on an SFI multinational collaboration between participating Centres of Excellence in Neurodegeneration (COEN). This project is a collaboration between the Department of Pharmacology & Therapeutics, UCC, the Neurogenetics Laboratory in Cardiff University and Dr Cora O'Neill Dept. Biochemistry, UCC. Dr Barry Boland


Post-Graduate Students


Name Program Supervisor Contact

Mr Tim Barnby

PhD Professor Thomas Walther

Ms Róisín Cassidy

MSc Dr Órla Patricia Barry

Ms Andrea Diaz Diaz

PhD Dr Christian Waeber

Mr Kyle Malone


 Dr Christian Waeber/Dr Anne Moore

Ms Manna Samprikta

PhD Dr Cathal McCarthy

Ms Alicia Mateos Cardenas


Dr Frank van Pelt / Professor John O'Halloran / Professor Marcel Jansen

Mr Ziad Sartawi

PhD Dr Christian Waeber

Ms Jessica Tallis


Appel Programme


Professor Thomas Walther




Administrative Staff

Name Position Telephone Email

Joan Merryweather

Administration 353 (0)21 420 5947


Department of Pharmacology and Therapeutics

Cógaseolaíocht agus Teiripic

2nd Floor, Western Gateway Building, University College Cork, Cork