RGG Barry Prize

The friends, past students and admirers of Dr. R.G.G. Barry, MD, FRCP, FRCPI, DCH, who was first Professor of Paediatrics from 1970-1977, subscribed a fund for the provision of an annual prize to be known as "The R.G.G. Barry Prize in Paediatrics". The prize is awarded to the candidate who has obtained the highest marks in Paediatrics at the Final Medical Examination (Part II), the award being made by the Extern Examiner in the Department of Paediatrics and Child Health provided that:

  • The Academic Council considers a sufficiently high standard to have been attained.
  • The successful candidate has been a student in University College Cork, for the three years immediately preceding the Examination.
  • He/she had not passed the Third University Examination in Medicine more than three years before the Summer of the year in which the Final Medical Examination (Part II) is taken, provided that, in the case of a student who has interrupted his/her medical studies at any time subsequent to passing the Third University Examination in Medicine in order to proceed to the BSc Degree or to pursue any other non-medical programme of study approved by the Faculty of Medicine, the period of time devoted to such non-medical studies shall not be counted when computing the interval between his/her passing of the Third University Examination in Medicine and Final Medical Examination (Part II).
  • He/she has taken and passed the whole of the Final Medical Examination (Part II) and has taken each subject of the examination for the first time.


The R.G.G. Barry UCC Prizewinners are as follows

2021 Dr Cathriona Murphy

2020 Dr Jiahong Cedric Chua

2019 Dr John Kehoe

2018 Dr Ciara Sreenan

2017 Dr Anna Powell

2016 Dr Killian McCarthy 

2015 Dr Roisin Ryan 

2014 Dr Veronique La Rue Constantineau

2013 Dr Anne O'Mahony

2012 Dr Michael Murphy

2011 Dr Marie Rafferty                                         

2011 Dr Grace Neville

2010 Dr Peter M. Barrett

2009 Dr Jennifer O'Sullivan

2008 Dr Ciara Ann McCarthy

2007 Dr David Ryan

2006 Dr Dearbhail O'Driscoll

2005 Dr Julie Burns

2004 Dr John Ryan

2003 Dr Grainne Murphy               

Department of Paediatrics & Child Health

Péidiatraic agus Sláinte Leanaí

Floor 2, Paediatric Unit, Cork University Hospital, Wilton, Cork, T12 DC4A