Skip to main content


Congratulations to the Autumn 2018 PhD and MSc Graduates from the School of Microbiology.

17 Oct 2018
Photo L-R: Dr Ronan Gough, Dr David Moreira Ferreira, Dr Javier Varela, Dr Noreen Lanigan and Dr Mairead Coakley.

Six School of Microbiology postgraduate students, were conferred at the Autumn Conferring Ceremonies, University College Cork, on 17 October 2018.

Ronan Gough PhD  

Starch Based Systems for The Colonic Delivery of Bioactive Peptides.


David Moreira Ferreira PhD

Stress Resistance During Wine Fermentation and Development of Optimized Wine Yeasts.


Javier Varela PhD

Functional and Evolutionary Analysis of Sugar Transporters in Kluyveromyces Marxianus.


Noreen Lanigan PhD

Bifidobacterium breve Adaption to the Gut Environment.


Mairead Coakley PhD

Health Promoting Fatty Acids and The Gut Microbiota.


One MSc student was also conferred in absentia.

Anna Pietrzyk MSc

Elimination of Thurmodurics to Improve the Quality of Powdered Dairy Ingredients

School of Microbiology

Scoil na Micribhitheolaíochta

Microbiology Office, Room FSB452, 4th Floor Food Science & Technology Building, University College Cork, Cork T12 Y337