School of Medicine Prize-Giving Ceremony

27 Mar 2023
Prizegiving - Jan 23

The annual School of Medicine Prize-Giving Ceremony took place on Friday 20th January,2023 in Brookfield Health Sciences Complex. This was the first in person ceremony to take place since Covid 19 whereby the 2021/2022 prize winners were awarded.  


The Dean of the School, Professor Paula O’Leary welcomed the large number of prize-winners, their families and friends to the Ceremony. The Dean also had a warm welcome for the family and friends of deceased family members and past graduates of the University to the Ceremony. 

On behalf of the School Professor O’Leary congratulated the recipients of the Prizes who have excelled in a large number of disciplines at various stages of their academic studies.  The Dean noted that as well as University and School Prizes many of the students and recent graduates have been recognised by external bodies, notably the NUI Dr Henry Hutchinson Stewart prizewinners.



Student Name Award
Anne- Marie O’ Brien  Scholarship in Anaesthesia
Gerald Ying Zhi Tan Third prize in Anaesthesia
Alexandra Jerzynska Third prize in Anatomy
Felicia Deonarine Third prize in Biochemistry
Dylan O Donovan Commendation in Clinical Radiology
Arsani Yousef    Commendation in Medical Microbiology
Dylan O Donovan Second prize in Medicine
Bridget Sheehan Commendation in Obstetrics & Gynaecology
Rebecca Fels  Second prize in Ophthalmology
Lucy O Gorman Third prize in Ophthalmology
Bridget Sheehan Scholarship in Paediatrics
Arsani Yousef Third prize in Pathology
Ahmed Mohammad  Scholarship in Pharmacology
Méadhbh Fitzgerald  Third prize in Pharmacology
Romina Golchin Second prize in Public Health
Joseph Dilworth Third prize in Surgery


A large number of the School of Medicine students continue to excel in a wide range of Research activities and their commitment was acknowledged at the Ceremony – there were 5 recipients of the Health Research Board Summer Student Scholarship this year which included Benjamin Green, Maha Irfan, Mariana Colussi-Pelaez, Mark Vesey and Tarun Das.

Caoimhe Cronin, Matthew Power, Janjie Guo, Yukta Ramesh, Mritunjay Mukjerjee and Rachel Roberts each received a bursary under the 2021 UCC College of Medicine and Health SURE Scheme.


Professor O’Leary emphasised that student life extends beyond the lecture halls and clinics and pointed out that many of the medical students have been formally recognized for their substantial contributions to University Societies.  In particular Professor O’Leary was very pleased to highlight the many successes of MedSoc, Surgeon Noonan, Friends of MSF and Emergency Care Society in the past 12 months and welcomed representatives from these Societies to the Ceremony.  On behalf of the School the Dean acknowledge their involvement and participation in these important aspects of their student lives and wished them well in their future endeavours.


Professor O’Leary emphasized how proud the School is of the achievements of the medical students receiving prizes at the event.  On behalf of the School, the Dean thanked sponsors for their continuing support for a few prizes and awards. The following prizes were presented by invited guests and faculty members to the successful recipients in recognition of their outstanding achievements in the 2021/2022 academic year:

Recipient Name Award Title
Amy Richards  Dr. Kay Flynn Memorial Medal in Physiology
Cathal Deasy Dr. Niamh Long Memorial Medal
Dr. Muslim Kamil Dr. Derek McCoy Medal
Orlaith O Donovan Dr. Biddy Foley in Microbiology
Aoife Golden Dr. Timothy O’ Toole Medal in General Practice
Sarah Currie Charles Donovan Prize in Dermatology
Dylan O Donovan  James M’ O Donovan Medical Prize
Abnoos Mosleh-Shiraz  Gaffney Prize
Grainne O Mahony Aodán Ó Donnchadha Memorial Prize
Stephen Ward Archer Gold Medal
Tey Wei Yuan Gold Medal in Radiology
Aisling Gouldson  Charles Medal Anatomy
Joseph Dilworth John Kelly Prize in Clinical Surgery
Louise Howe Blayney Prize
Joseph Dilworth Pearson Medal
Vincent Savage   MacConaill Prize in Anatomy
Catherine Kelly MacConaill Prize in Clinical Anatomy
Méadbh Fitzgerald British Pharmacologist Society Prize for Clinical Pharmacology
Rebecca Fels  TheaPamex- UCC Prize in Ophthalmology
Jack Moore   Graduate Entry Medicine First Year Prize
David Pompili  Graduate Entry First Year Certificate
James Hollister  Graduate Entry Medicine Second Year Prize
Ahmed Mohammad Graduate Entry Second Year Certificate
Amy Richards Prize in Foundations in Medicine AnatBioPhys- Year 1
Alexander Lunch    Certificate in Foundations in Medicine AnatBioPhys- Year 1
Sikander Azam Prize in Foundations in Medicine AnatBioPhys- Year 2
Catherine Kelly  Certificate in Foundations in Medicine AnatBioPhys Year 2
Tanisha Roy Dr. Pamela Gilligan Prize
Julie Beshara  Pathology Undergraduate Medal
Arsani Yousef  GEM Pathology Medal
Louise Howe RGG Barry Prize in Paediatrics
David Kennedy  P.F. Fitzpatrick Prize in Epidemiology & Public Health
Angela Kenneally   Dr. Fionnaula Quigley Prize
Maria Long  HSE-SSWHG Prize Highest Overall Mark MSc Diagnostic Radiography
Sonya Quirke  Affidea Higher Overall Mark in Principles and Practice of Diagnostic Radiography
Maria Long Synapse Highest Overall Mark In Physics Subjects MSc Diagnostic Radiography
Lisa Kingston Bayer Highest Overall Mark 1st Year MSc Diagnostic Radiography
Lauren Hurley IIRRT The Olive Fleming Memorial Award-  MSc Diagnostic Radiography
Kate Murphy

Prize Highest Overall Mark MSc Radiation Therapy

Mary O Sullivan Highest Overall Mark 1st Year- MSc Radiation Therapy
Kate Murphy IIRRT The Olive Fleming Memorial Award-  MSc Radiation Therapy
Laura Delaney  Highest Overall Mark in Physics Subjects
Jennifer Delaney Highest Overall Mark in Principles and Practice of Radiation Therapy
Helen Nagle Dr. John Beausang Prize (joint)
Sean Whelan Dr. John Beausang Prize (joint)

 Photos available at: Prizegiving 2022             




School of Medicine

Scoil an Leighis

Room 2.59, T12 AK54