Henry Hutchinson Stewart Awards – a Tradition of Excellence

5 Dec 2014

Each year, UCC medical students perform extremely well in the Henry Hutchinson Stewart NUI Scholarship Awards. This year was no exception, with UCC taking 18 First, Second or Third places, including First in Surgery, Medicine, Paediatrics, Pharmacology and Physiology. Last year, UCC students also achieved First places in all of these disciplines.

The Henry Hutchinson Stewart NUI Scholarship Awards celebrate academic excellence among students of NUI institutions.

Dr Henry Hutchinson Stewart was born in Wicklow in 1799, the son of a clergyman. In 1829 he obtained the licence of the Royal College of Surgeons, Ireland and MD of Edinburgh. In 1888, a bequest was received by Trinity College, Dublin and the Royal University of Ireland, from the estate of Dr Henry Hutchinson Stewart, for the establishment of Medical and Literary Scholarships. Under the terms of the trust it is  provided that two-thirds of the income be allocated for the provision of medical scholarships and one-third for the provision of literary scholarships. The recipients of the Medical Scholarships and Prizes are determined by an agreed extern examiner in each subject.

Students were presented with their awards at a formal NUI Awards Ceremony on12th of November at the Royal Hospital Kilmainham.

UCC HHS Awardees 2014

Anaesthesia: Brian Daly (Third)

Anatomy: Edmond Patrick Morrissey (Second)

General Practice: Rory Crotty (2nd), Amanda Kaye (Third)

Obstetrics and Gynaecology: Ita Shanahan (Third)

Medical Microbiology: Fiona Doyle (Third)

Medicine: Brian Hanley (First), Sadhbh Hurley (Third)

Ophthalmology: Karen Curtin (Second)

Paediatrics: Leanne Cussen (First)

Pathology: Stephen O’Brien (Second)

Pharmacology: Timothy O’Brien (First)

Physiology: Sean Whelan (First)

Psychiatry: Catherine O’Mahoney (Second), Jane Cudmore (Third)

Public Health: Jenny Stokes (Second), Michael Hanrahan (Third)

Surgery: Bronwyn Power (First), Sadhbh Hurley (Commendation)

School of Medicine

Scoil an Leighis

Room 2.59, T12 AK54