Professor Siobhán Mullally appointed to Permanent Court of Arbitration

Professor Siobhán Mullally has been appointed by the Irish Government to the Permanent Court of Arbitration in The Hague. Other Irish appointees to the Court are: Mr Justice Nicholas Kearns, President of the High Court; Ms Máire Whelan SC, Attorney General; Mr James Kingston, Legal Adviser, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade.  

The Permanent Court of Arbitration was established by treaty in 1899. It is an intergovernmental organization with over one hundred member states, established to facilitate arbitration and other forms of dispute resolution between states, state entities, intergovernmental organizations, and private parties.

Members of the Court are potential arbitrators appointed by member states. Each member state is entitled to nominate up to four persons of “known competency in questions of international law, of the highest moral reputation and disposed to accept the duties of arbitrators” as “Members of the Court.” Members of the Court are appointed for a term of six years.

In addition to forming a panel of potential arbitrators, the Members of the Court from each member state constitute a “national group,” which is entitled to nominate candidates for the election to the International Court of Justice (article 4(1) of the Statute of the International Court of Justice). The Members of the Court (along with the judges of the ICJ) are among a handful of groups entitled to nominate candidates for the Nobel Peace Prize.

Siobhán Mullally teaches a range of international law subjects at undergraduate and postgraduate levels at UCC and is Joint Editor in Chief of the Irish Yearbook of International Law, published by Hart: Oxford.

<<Previous Item||Next Item>>

« Back to 2012

School of Law

Scoil an Dlí

Room 1.63, T12 T656