Sustainability Strategy

On Friday 17th June 2016, President Emeritus Michael Murphy launched the UCC Sustainability Strategy.  UCC is regarded as Ireland’s ‘Green University’ and in combination with the University’s Strategic Plan 2017 – 2022, the implementation of this Sustainability Strategy will further enhance this reputation and performance.  The strategy focuses on nine key areas, with specific objectives and KPIs under each theme.  These categories mirror those of the Green Campus Programme. We aim to streamline sustainability management in the university through both of these processes and approaches.

To download the Strategy please click on the following link – Sustainability Strategy June 2016 (2,512kB)

The Green Campus Programme and Green Forum (see below) contribute to delivery of this strategy.

UCC Green Forum

The Green Campus Forum draws its members from across the college community and includes staff and student representatives, and key personnel with responsibilities in relation to the sustainability strategy.

Chaired by President John O’Halloran and Mark Poland (Director of Buildings and Estates), the forum meets regularly to drive forward the Green Campus project and sustainability within UCC.

If you wish to be a representative for a particular group/area please contact us:

Autumn 2022 marks twelve years since UCC students began an initiative that would lead to the development of the Green Campus Programme, not just on our campus but across the world.   In the years that have followed, UCC is proud to have been the first university in the world to be awarded a Green Flag.  We were also the first to successfully renew our Green Flag twice, and to achieve ISO 50001 accreditation for energy management.  We continue to maintain our strong standing in global metrics of Green Universities and actively contribute to the sustainable campus agenda on an international level.

We are continually making efforts to improve our impact on the environment and build on the excellent “grassroots” initiatives that are being undertaken in departments and buildings across the campus.  You can read more about these initiatives in the pages of this website.  The mission of our Green Campus is that all our activities are ‘student led, research informed and practice focused’.  This mission continues our long tradition of independent thinking and citizenship, and was further reinforced with the publication of UCC’s Sustainability Strategy in July 2016.  In May 2017, a Sustainability Officer was appointed to lead on the delivery of this strategy.

As chairs of the Green Forum, we welcome the involvement of the entire campus community in our sustainability initiatives and recognise the immense contributions that both staff and students have made over the last ten years to make our campus more sustainable.  We hope to continue these efforts over the coming years, and to further UCC’s role in contributing to a more sustainable society.

President John O’Halloran and Mark Poland (Green Forum Co-Chairs)

John O'Halloran Green Forum Co-Chair 
Mark Poland Green Forum Co-Chair 
Rebecca Doocey Green Campus Committee Co-Chair 
Maeve Richardson Green Campus Committee Co-Chair 
Pat Mehigan Energy Manager 
Maria Kirrane Sustainability Officer
Darren Reidy Acting Sustainability Officer 
Sandra Barry Sustainability & Energy Administrator
Stephan Koch Commuter Plan Manager 
Barrie Curley Grounds Maintenance B&E 
Aidan O'Dwyer Services Co-ordinator B&E 
Tim Cronin Capital Projects 
Hannah Daly Civil Engineering 
John Cryan VP for Research & Innovation 
Aine Ryall Centre for Law & The Environment 
William Brady Planning & Sustainable Development 
Dara Fitzpatrick Chemistry 
Michael Byrne Student Health 
Edmond Byrne Engineering 
Michelle Healy Boole Library 
Christie Godsmark Public Health + ERI + CATCH Project 
Annalisa Setti Cork NeuroScience CNS Centre 
Jason McMahon Student Accommodation/Castlewhite Manager 
Caroline Jensen Kylemore Services Group 
Terry Brennan Students Centre 
Fiona Thomson Procurement 
Katarzyna Sroka  Bidvest Noonan  
Niall Dunphy CPPU 
Paul Bolger ERI 
Jeremy Gault ERI