Sustainability Strategy

On Friday 17th June 2016, President Emeritus Michael Murphy launched the UCC Sustainability Strategy.  UCC is regarded as Ireland’s ‘Green University’ and in combination with the University’s Strategic Plan 2017 – 2022, the implementation of this Sustainability Strategy will further enhance this reputation and performance.  The strategy focuses on nine key areas, with specific objectives and KPIs under each theme.  These categories mirror those of the Green Campus Programme. We aim to streamline sustainability management in the university through both of these processes and approaches.

To download the Strategy please click on the following link – Sustainability Strategy June 2016 (2,512kB)

The Green Campus Programme and Green Forum (see below) contribute to delivery of this strategy.

UCC Green Forum

The Green Campus Forum draws its members from across the college community and includes staff and student representatives, and key personnel with responsibilities in relation to the sustainability strategy.

Chaired by President John O’Halloran and Mark Poland (Director of Buildings and Estates), the forum meets regularly to drive forward the Green Campus project and sustainability within UCC.

If you wish to be a representative for a particular group/area please contact us: greencampus@ucc.ie

Autumn 2021 marks eleven years since UCC students began an initiative that would lead to the development of the Green Campus Programme, not just on our campus but across the world.   In the years that have followed, UCC is proud to have been the first university in the world to be awarded a Green Flag.  We were also the first to successfully renew our Green Flag twice, and to achieve ISO 50001 accreditation for energy management.  We continue to maintain our strong standing in global metrics of Green Universities and actively contribute to the sustainable campus agenda on an international level.

We are continually making efforts to improve our impact on the environment and build on the excellent “grassroots” initiatives that are being undertaken in departments and buildings across the campus.  You can read more about these initiatives in the pages of this website.  The mission of our Green Campus is that all our activities are ‘student led, research informed and practice focused’.  This mission continues our long tradition of independent thinking and citizenship, and was further reinforced with the publication of UCC’s Sustainability Strategy in July 2016.  In May 2017, a Sustainability Officer was appointed to lead on the delivery of this strategy.

As chairs of the Green Forum, we welcome the involvement of the entire campus community in our sustainability initiatives and recognise the immense contributions that both staff and students have made over the last ten years to make our campus more sustainable.  We hope to continue these efforts over the coming years, and to further UCC’s role in contributing to a more sustainable society.

President John O’Halloran and Mark Poland (Green Forum Co-Chairs)

John O'Halloran Green Forum Co-Chair president@ucc.ie 
Mark Poland Green Forum Co-Chair markpoland@ucc.ie 
Rebecca Doocey Green Campus Committee Co-Chair enviromental@uccsocieties.ie 
Maeve Richardson Green Campus Committee Co-Chair engagement@uccsu.ie 
Pat Mehigan Energy Manager p.mehigan@ucc.ie 
Maria Kirrane Sustainability Officer m.kirrane@ucc.ie
Darren Reidy Acting Sustainability Officer dreidy@ucc.ie 
Sandra Barry Sustainability & Energy Administrator sandra.barry@ucc.ie
Stephan Koch Commuter Plan Manager s.koch@ucc.ie 
Barrie Curley Grounds Maintenance B&E b.curley@ucc.ie 
Aidan O'Dwyer Services Co-ordinator B&E a.odwyer@ucc.ie 
Tim Cronin Capital Projects tim.cronin@ucc.ie 
Hannah Daly Civil Engineering  h.daly@ucc.ie 
John Cryan VP for Research & Innovation j.cryan@ucc.ie 
Aine Ryall Centre for Law & The Environment a.ryall@ucc.ie 
William Brady Planning & Sustainable Development w.brady@ucc.ie 
Dara Fitzpatrick Chemistry d.fitzpatrick@ucc.ie 
Michael Byrne Student Health m.byrne@ucc.ie 
Edmond Byrne Engineering e.byrne@ucc.ie 
Michelle Healy Boole Library m.healy@ucc.ie 
Christie Godsmark Public Health + ERI + CATCH Project  christie.godsmark@ucc.ie 
Annalisa Setti Cork NeuroScience CNS Centre a.setti@ucc.ie 
Jason McMahon Student Accommodation/Castlewhite Manager  cwmanager@ucc.ie 
Caroline Jensen Kylemore Services Group caroline.jensen@ksg.ie 
Terry Brennan Students Centre t.brennan@ucc.ie 
Fiona Thomson Procurement fiona.thomson@ucc.ie 
Katarzyna Sroka  Bidvest Noonan katarzyna.sroka@bidvestnoonan.com  
Niall Dunphy CPPU n.dunphy@ucc.ie 
Paul Bolger ERI p.bolger@ucc.ie 
Jeremy Gault ERI j.gault@ucc.ie 

 

Green Campus

University College Cork, College Road, Cork T12 YN60,

Top