Incoming Students 19-20

Incoming Students 2019-20

Incoming Students 2019-20

Undergraduate Courses

The following links point you to the undergraduate web prospectus, modules and lecture timetables. 

My Timetable: is an online tool that can be used to set up personalised academic timetables for the full academic year. It can be accessed within and outside the UCC network, on PC or mobile and on all browsers  https://mytimetable.ucc.ie/ 

 

BSc Computer Science (CK401) 

Online Prospectus 

Calendar 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th years

Book of Modules (module descriptions)

Lecture Timetable 

Laboratory Timetables (will be available during the first weeks of semester)

Elective Module Choices for First Years

Chinese ModulesFrench ModulesIrish/Gaeilge ModulesItalian ModulesGerman Modules 

 

BSc Data Science and Analytics (CK411)  

BSc DSA Handbook 2019-2020

Online Prospectus 

Calendar 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th years

Book of Modules (module descriptions)

Lecture Timetable 

Laboratory Timetables (will be available during the first weeks of semester)

  

BA Digital Humanities and Information Technology (CK118)  

Online Prospectus 

Calendar 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th years

  • Third Year Modules (Further details: please contact the Department of Digital Humanities and Information Technology)
  • Fourth Year Modules (Further details: please contact the Department of Digital Humanities and Information Technology)

Book of Modules (module descriptions)

Lecture Timetable

Laboratory Timetables (will be available during the first weeks of semester)

 

BA Psychology and Computing (CK121)  

Online Prospectus 

Calendar 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th years

Book of Modules (module descriptions)

Lecture Timetable

Laboratory Timetables (will be available during the first weeks of semester)

 

Postgraduate Courses

The following links point you to the postgraduate web prospectus, modules and lecture timetables. 

My Timetable

MyTimeTable is an online tool that can be used to set up personalised academic timetables for the full academic year. It can be accessed within and outside the UCC network, on PC or mobile and on all browsers.  https://mytimetable.ucc.ie/ 

Our Taught Postgraduate Handbook 2019-20 lists all relevant information for each of our Taught Postgraduate courses. Please familiarise yourself with the contents within the relevant sections that apply to you from the course you have chosen.

 

MSc Computing Science (CKR40)

Online Prospectus 

Calendar (degree content)

Book of Modules (module descriptions)

Lecture Timetable 

Laboratory Timetables (will be available during the first weeks of semester)

 

MSc Data Science and Analytics (CKR40)

Online Prospectus 

Calendar (degree content)

Book of Modules (module descriptions)

Lecture Timetable 

Laboratory Timetables (will be available during the first weeks of semester)

 

MSc Interactive Media (CKR05)

Online Prospectus 

Calendar (degree content)

Book of Modules (module descriptions)

Lecture Timetable 

Laboratory Timetables (will be available during the first weeks of semester)

 

Higher Diploma in Applied Computing Technology (CKRo08)

Online Prospectus 

Calendar (degree content)

Book of Modules (module descriptions)

Lecture Timetable 

Laboratory Timetables (will be available during the first weeks of semester)

 

Contacts - Course Coordinators

NB : Please prepend the following numbers to the telephone extensions when calling:

  • '420' if outside UCC
  • '021-420' if outside Cork
  • '353-21-420' if outside Ireland
School Office Phone:+353(0)21 420-5891 
E-mail: secretary@cs.ucc.ie

Head of School

School of Computer Science & Information Technology

Professor Cormac Sreenan
Extn: 5892
Email: secretary@cs.ucc.ie

Schools Outreach (1st & 2nd level schools)

Dr Sabin Tabirca
Extn: 5892
Email: DoIT4real@cs.ucc.ie
Non-EU Programmes Professor Michel Schellekens
Extn: 5941
Email: m.schellekens@cs.ucc.ie
Work Placement; Staff-Student Liaison Dr John Herbert
Extn: 5925
Email: j.herbert@cs.ucc.ie
CK401:
BSc Computer Science; Erasmus
Dr Kieran Herley
Extn: 5805
Email: k.herley@cs.ucc.ie
CK411:
BSc Data Science & Analytics
Professor Gregory Provan
Extn: 5928
Email: g.provan@cs.ucc.ie
CK118:
BA Digital Humanities & Information Technology; CACSS
Mr Gavin Russell
Extn: 5910
Email: g.russell@cs.ucc.ie
CK121:
BA Psychology & Computing
Dr Ian Pitt
Extn: 5804
Email: i.pitt@cs.ucc.ie
Undergraduate International Student Mentor
Dr Laura Climent
Extn: 5901
Email: l.climent@cs.ucc.ie
Final Year Projects
Dr Frank Boehme
Extn: 5916
Email: f.boehme@cs.ucc.ie
Student Change to Applications
Mr Humphrey Sorensen
Extn: 5902
Email: h.sorensen@cs.ucc.ie
CK008 (full-time); CK010 (part-time):
HDip. Applied Computing Technology
Dr Steve Prestwich
Extn: 5911
Email: s.prestwich@cs.ucc.ie
CKR40:
MSc Computing Science
Dr Marc van Dongen
Extn: 5903
Email: m.vandongen@cs.ucc.ie
CKR49:
MSc Data Science & Analytics
Dr Alejandro Arbelaez
Extn: 5909
Email: a.arbelaez@cs.ucc.ie
CKR05 (full-time) and CKR06 (part-time):
MSc Interactive Media
Mr David Murphy
Extn: 5908
Email: d.murphy@cs.ucc.ie

 

Contacts - Lecturing Staff

Name

Position

Office

Phone

Email

Arbelaez, Alejandro

Lecturer

G-71

420-5909

a.arbelaez@cs.ucc.ie

Boehme, Frank

Lecturer

G-60

420-5916

f.boehme@cs.ucc.ie

Bridge, Derek

Senior Lecturer

2-64

420-5907

d.bridge@cs.ucc.ie

Brown, Ken

Professor

2-61

420-5952

k.brown@cs.ucc.ie

Climent, Laura

Lecturer

G-67

420-5901

l.climent@cs.ucc.ie

Doherty, James

Lecturer

1-72

420-5929

j.doherty@cs.ucc.ie

Grigoras, Dan

Senior Lecturer

G-65

420-5918

d.grigoras@cs.ucc.ie

Herbert, John

Senior Lecturer

1-78

420-5925

j.herbert@cs.ucc.ie

Herley, Kieran

Lecturer

G-63

420-5905

k.herley@cs.ucc.ie

Mancini, Maurizio

Lecturer

G-72

420-5913

m.mancini@cs.ucc.ie

Maye, Laura

Lecturer

G-70

420-5889

l.maye@cs.ucc.ie

Morrison, John P.

Professor

2-50

420-5944

j.morrison@cs.ucc.ie

Murphy, David

Lecturer

1-77

420-5908

d.murphy@cs.ucc.ie

O'Driscoll, Aisling

Lecturer

G-61

420-5919

a.odriscoll@cs.ucc.ie currently on leave

O'Mullane, John

Lecturer

1-79

420-5920

j.omullane@cs.ucc.ie

O'Riordan, Adrian

Lecturer

1-80

420-5906

a.oriordan@cs.ucc.ie

O'Sullivan, Barry

Professor

2-65

420-5951

b.osullivan@cs.ucc.ie

Palmieri, Paolo

Lecturer

1-74

420-5922

p.palmieri@cs.ucc.ie

Pesch, Dirk

Professor

G-50

420-5914

d.pesch@cs.ucc.ie

Pitt, Ian

Lecturer

G-60

420-5904

i.pitt@cs.ucc.ie

Prestwich, Steve

Lecturer

2-58

420-5911

s.prestwich@cs.ucc.ie

Provan, Gregory

Professor

1-71

420-5928

g.provan@cs.ucc.ie

Quinlan, Jason

Lecturer

G-73

420-5919

j.quinlan@cs.ucc.ie

Roedig, Utz

Professor

1-70

420-5900

u.roedig@cs.ucc.ie

Russell, Gavin

Lecturer

G-66

420-5910

g.russell@cs.ucc.ie

Schellekens, Michel

Professor

2-55

420-5941

m.schellekens@cs.ucc.ie

Sorensen, Humphrey

Senior Lecturer

1-73

420-5902

h.sorensen@cs.ucc.ie

Sreenan, Cormac

Professor, Head of School

1-28

420-5892

secretary@cs.ucc.ie

Stol, Klaas-Jan

Lecturer

G-69

420-5923

k.stol@cs.ucc.ie

Tabirca, Sabin

Senior Lecturer

1-81

420-5915

s.tabirca@cs.ucc.ie

van Dongen, Marc

Lecturer

G-64

420-5903

m.vandongen@cs.ucc.ie

Zahran, Ahmed

Lecturer

1-82

420-5926 

a.zahran@cs.ucc.ie

 

 

Contacts - Computer Science Systems Support

Name

Position

Office

Phone

Email

Delaney, James

Computing Systems Engineer

1.20

420-5898

j.delaney@cs.ucc.ie

Fleming, Martin

Systems Administrator

1-20

420-5894

m.fleming@cs.ucc.ie

Moriarty, Martin

Systems Administrator

1-20

420-5896

m.moriarty@cs.ucc.ie

O'Byrne, David

Computing Systems Manager

1-20

420-5895

d.obyrne@cs.ucc.ie

O'Rourke, Billy

Systems Administrator

1-20

420-5897

b.orourke@cs.ucc.ie

 

Contacts - Administrative

Name

Position

Office

Phone

Email

School Office

School Office

1-28

420-5891

csoffice@cs.ucc.ie

Duggan, James

Senior Executive Assistant

1-28

420-5890

j.duggan@cs.ucc.ie

Hynes, Margaret

Executive Assistant (Job-Share)

1-28

420-5890/5892

m.hynes@cs.ucc.ie

Murphy, Joanne

Administrative Officer (Academic)

1-28

420-5893

j.murphy@cs.ucc.ie

O'Brien, Ann

Schools Outreach & PR

1-28

420-5888

a.obrien@cs.ucc.ie

Timon, Derbhile

School Manager

1-28C

420-5891

csmanager@cs.ucc.ie

Walsh, Julie

Executive Assistant (Job-Share)

1-28

420-5889/5892

j.walsh@cs.ucc.ie

 

 

Useful Links

Campus Building Venue Codes

UCC Campus Map

Additional Maps 

Registration Assistance, email  sreo@ucc.ie  

Registration Procedures:  http://www.ucc.ie/calendar/general/info014.html

Registration Dates: https://www.ucc.ie/en/registration/dates-procedures/ 

Registration Requirements: http://www.ucc.ie/calendar/general/info014i.htm 

Postgraduate Registration Timetable (Irish/EU Students): https://www.ucc.ie/en/study/postgrad/studytaught/new/incomingstudents/registrationpart2/

ID Cards: http://www.ucc.ie/calendar/general/info014b.htm

Address Details: http://www.ucc.ie/calendar/general/info014e.htm

Workload Guide:  http://www.ucc.ie/calendar/general/info014e.html

Attendance:  http://www.ucc.ie/calendar/general/info014e.htm

Attendance in a Repeat Year: http://www.ucc.ie/calendar/general/info014e.htm

Attendance at Additional Modules: http://www.ucc.ie/calendar/general/info014e.htm

Fees: http://www.ucc.ie/en/financeoffice/fees/

Scholarships: http://www.ucc.ie/en/registration/scholarships/

Semester dates: https://www.ucc.ie/en/registration/dates-procedures/ 

Examinations: http://www.ucc.ie/en/exams/

Change of Subject/Module: http://www.ucc.ie/calendar/general/info014d.htm

Book of Modules: http://www.ucc.ie/modules/

Elective Modules: http://www.ucc.ie/calendar/general/info014l.htm

Marks and Standards: http://www.ucc.ie/admin/registrar/marksandstandards/

College Calendars (Undergraduate and Postgraduate): http://www.ucc.ie/calendar/index.html

Withdrawal from Programme During Academic Year: http://www.ucc.ie/calendar/general/info014f.htm

Application from Student Seeking Special Permission: http://www.ucc.ie/calendar/general/info014h.htm 

Student Leave of Absence: http://www.ucc.ie/calendar/general/info014c.htm

Mature Students: http://www.ucc.ie/en/mature/

Non-First Year Students:

Second Year and Beyond: https://www.ucc.ie/en/registration/ongoing/ 

Schedule for Online Registration:  https://www.ucc.ie/en/registration/ongoing/ 

Procedures for Withdrawing from a Degree Programme: https://www.ucc.ie/en/registration/changes/ 

School of Computer Science and Information Technology

Scoil na Ríomheolaíochta agus na Teicneolaíochta Faisnéise

School of Computer Science and Information Technology, Western Gateway Building, University College Cork, Western Road, Cork, Ireland

Top