News & Events

2017 Schools' Analyst Competition

29 Apr
Photo(L-R): Noel Browne, Dr. Anna Hogan, Dr. Eric Moore, Niamh O'Sullivan, Michael Condon, Sean Lyons, Tristan Guichard, Dr. Aoife Morrin, Dr. Elizabeth Gilchrist, John Meehan.

Results from National Heat 2 (UCC)

Congratulations to Coláiste an Chroí Naofa (Carrignavar, Co. Cork) on winning the Cork heat of the inaugral Republic of Ireland Royal Society of Chemistry Schools Analyst Competition. The event took place in UCC on Thursday April 27th.

1st Place
Coláiste an Chroí Naofa, Carrignavar, Co. Cork.
Teacher: Niamh O’Sullivan
Students: Michael Condon, Sean Lyons, Tristan Guichard

2nd Place
Christ King Secondary School, South Douglas Road, Cork.
Teacher: Denise Quilter
Students: Heidi Pathak, Mary O'Halloran, Jill Casserly

3rd Place
School: Coláiste na Toirbhirte, Bandon, Co. Cork.
Teacher: Nicola Twoomey
Students: Eimear Kelly, Siobhan Lee, Emily Crowley

The Schools' Analyst Competition is a UK/Ireland-based competition run by the Royal Society of Chemistry Analytical Division. The Republic of Ireland Sub-Region of this division have now held two heats (Cork and Dublin) and will soon select one of the winners to go forward into the UK and Ireland Final (held in June in the UK).

Photos from the event can be viewed Here.

School of Chemistry


University College Cork, College Rd, Cork, Ireland