News & Events

2016 Undergraduate Prize Winners

14 Apr
Photo (L-R): Prof. Justin Holmes (Head of Department), Daniel Crowley (Reilly Chemistry Prize Winner).

Eli Lilly, OUP and Reilly Prizes.

Annual undergraduate prizes in Chemistry were awarded yesterday to three students. The ceremony took place in the Aula Maxima. Thanks to Eli Lilly and Oxford University Press for their continued support in these awards. Full details on this years winners are as follows:

Eli Lilly Chemistry Prize: Caoimhe Broderick
This prize is awarded annually to the student who has obtained the highest mark in Chemistry and passed the Summer First University Examination in Science, at the first attempt, and who subsequently registers for an honours degree in Chemistry at UCC.

Photo (L-R): Dr. Donal Harrold (Eli Lilly) and Caoimhe Broderick.

Oxford University Press Book Prize: Edward Burgoyne
The OUP award is presented to the student with the highest marks from 3rd Year Chemistry in the 2014/15 academic year.

Photo (L-R): Prof. Justin Holmes and Edward Burgoyne.

Reilly Chemistry Prize: Daniel Crowley
The Reilly prize is awarded to the candidate who has obtained first place in the fouth year BSc (Hons) degree examination and has obtained first class honours. The prize is named in the memory of the late Professor J. Reilly, who was professor of Chemistry and Head of the Chemistry Department in UCC for the period 1924-1959.

Photo (L-R): Prof. Justin Holmes and Daniel Crowley.


School of Chemistry


University College Cork, College Rd, Cork, Ireland