Athena Swan


Athena SWAN (Scientific Women’s Academic Network) is a charter established and managed by the British Equality Challenge Unit in 2005 that recognises and celebrates good practice towards the advancement of gender equality: representation, progression and success for all. The Athena SWAN charter was established to encourage and recognise commitment to advancing the careers of women in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) employment in higher education and research.

Following the institutional Athena Swan bronze award for UCC, the School of Chemistry is currently preparing its bronze award application for submission in November 2017.


Since achieving a Bronze Institutional Athena SWAN Award in 2016, UCC has committed to pursue at least three departmental-level applications annually, and three Schools (Chemistry, BEES and Pharmacy) are working on applications for November 2017 submission.

Self Assessment Team

Chaired by Prof. John Wenger, the School of Chemistry Self Assessment Team (SAT) was established in September 2016.

The SAT is representative of academic, technical and administrative staff in the School, including representation from postdoctoral research staff, postgraduate and undergraduate students. The team also represents different career grades and provides a good gender balance (6 males, 9 females). Details of our SAT team below:

Name Position
Dr. Subhajit Biswas Research Fellow
Dr. Trevor Carey Senior Technical Officer
Ms. Jessica Doherty Postgraduate Student
Dr Elizabeth Gilchrist Lecturer in Analytical Chemistry
Prof. Justin Holmes Head of School and Professor of Nanochemistry
Ms. Ann King Athena Swan Project Officer
Prof. Anita Maguire Vice President for Research & Innovation, Professor of ABCRF
Dr. Orla Ní Dhubhghaill Lecturer in Inorganic Chemistry
Dr. Aoife O'Sullivan Technical Officer
Ms. Claire O'Sullivan Senior Executive Assistant
Dr. Dave Otway Lecturer in Inorganic and Materials Chemistry
Mr. Oliver Pemble Postgraduate Student
Ms. Kasia Pyrz Senior Executive Assistant
Ms. Claire Tobin School of Chemistry Manager
Prof. John Wenger Professor in Physical Chemistry

Former SAT Members | Ms. Émer Hickey (Undergraduate Student).

School of Chemistry


University College Cork, College Rd, Cork, Ireland