Community Engagement Committee


one representative from each School

Chair: Dr. Angela Veale

Deputy Chair: Dr Marie Kelly

  • Dr Annalisa Setti

School of Applied Psychology:

  • Dr Rebecca Jeffers

School of Applied Social Studies:

  • Mr Shawn Day

School of English: 

  • Dr Wesley O’Brien

School of Education:

  • Dr Malgortata D'Aughton, Dr Finola Doyle-O'Neill & Dr.Simon Knowles

School of History: 

  • Jeanette Fitzsimons

School of the Human Environment:

  • Clíona O’Carroll

School of Irish Learning: 

  • Kate Hodgson

School of Languages, Literatures & Cultures:

  • Marie Kelly (for 2 years from Sept 2017)

School of Music & Theatre:

  • Dr Ger Mullally, Sociology; Dr Emmanuelle Schön-Quinlivan, Government & Politics

School of Sociology, Philosophy, Criminology, Government & Poltics:

Ms Elaine O'Connor – Admin support



Terms of Reference

  • Need for a systematic approach for the College and the University to recognise the importance of external engagement in terms of recognition of external partner/civil society contributions, recognition of staff contribution including within promotion procedures, support for external engagement and funding.
  • Develop activities related to promoting external engagement activities such as initiating and maintaining an external engagement website; possibility of an event to highlight external engagement; possibly an awards ceremony to recognise external partners and staff members who contribute to external engagement.
  • Ensure equality of esteem of external engagement activities – activities at both individual, day-to-day level to be captured as well as at School level. 
  • Actively engage with USREP and ensure complementarity of work e.g. support the USREP survey process and utilise the data to complement the interviews carried out by this committee with Heads of School to understand nature and extent of external engagement now and into the future.  
  • Seek clarification at institutional level on status of contribution in relation to probation, establishment and promotion scheme criteria.
  • The committee will advocate for broad range of external engagement activities.

College of Arts, Celtic Studies & Social Sciences

Coláiste na nEalaíon, an Léinn Cheiltigh agus na nEolaíochtaí Sóisialta

College Office, Room G31 ,Ground Floor, Block B, O'Rahilly Building, UCC