Research & Innovation Committee


Chair: Dr Helena Buffery

  • Dr Samantha Dockray and Dr. Conor Linehan

School of Applied Psychology:

  • Dr Órla O’Donovan and Mr. Joe Finnerty

School of Applied Social Studies: 

  • Dr Máire Ní Ríordáin and Dr. Siobhán Dowling

School of Education:  

  • Dr James O’Sullivan (semester 1); Dr Clíona O’Gallchoir (semester 2) Dr Maureen O’Connor

School of English:   

  • Dr Clare O'Halloran and Dr Sabine Kriebel.

School of History:

  • Dr Kieran Hickey and Dr Colin Rynne

School of the Human Environment:

  • Dr Marie-Annick Desplanques (Béaloideas) and Dr. Kevin Murray 

School of Irish Learning:

  • Dr Daragh O’Connell and Dr Martin Howard

School of Languages, Literatures & Cultures

  • Mr John Godfrey (for 3 years from Sept 2017)  and Professor Laura Rascaroli

School of Film, Music & Theatre:

  • Dr Katherine Furman and Dr Theresa Reidy

School of Sociology, Philosophy, Criminology, Government & Poltics:

  •         ONE Director of Research Support Services, UCC
  • Library Representative
  • Head of College ACSSS
  • Associate Dean of Graduate Studies
  • College ACSSS Research Officer
  • Two or more Research Officers of College Centres/Institutes (at least One from Humanities and One from Social Sciences)
  • Co-options where applicable

tbc (CACSSS office) – Admin support – Marian Cotter temp support

Terms of Reference

  • To co-ordinate College Research policy
  • To support research excellence in the College
  • To assist in the development of new research strategies
  • To make recommendations on library policy with regard to research support
  • To co-ordinate the College Research website
  • To co-ordinate the delivery of research support to members of the College
  • To support the search for new sources of research funding
  • To consider the allocation of research funding under the RAM
  • To further the development of Research Projects, Centres and Institutes
  • To further the development of College research priority areas
  • To receive and coordinate nominations for Research achievement awards.
  • To oversee College publications on Research
  • To liaise with AC Research and Innovation Committee
  • To liaise and collaborate with the Office of the Vice President for Research and Innovation

College of Arts, Celtic Studies & Social Sciences

Coláiste na nEalaíon, an Léinn Cheiltigh agus na nEolaíochtaí Sóisialta

College Office, Room G31 ,Ground Floor, Block B, O'Rahilly Building, UCC