Frequently Asked Questions

Where can I find information on the various Arts degrees/pathways?


CK101 Arts

CK102 Social Science

CK103 Music

CK104 Arts-Music

CK105 Film and Screen Media

CK106 Applied Psychology

CK107 Geography & Archaeology

CK108 Arts International

CK109 English

CK110 World Languages

CK111 Early Years and Childhood Studies

CK112 Drama and Theatre Studies

CK113 Criminology

CK114 Youth & Community Work

CK115 Social Work

CK116 Sports Studies & Physical Education

CK117 Economics (Through Transformational Learning)

CK118 Digital Humanities & Information Technology


If I am offered a place in UCC, is it possible to defer?

EU students who have been offered a place in UCC, may (in exceptional circumstances only) be permitted, on application to the Admissions Officer, to defer entry to the university for one year.


Jennifer Murphy

Admissions Officer


T: +353 (0)21 490 2948.

Please click on link below for UCC’s Deferred Entry Policy including closing dates and charges :

Am I entitled to any exemptions for prior study?

Students on the BA (Hons), BA (Hons) International, BA (Hons) Film and Screen Media, BA (Hons) Geography & Archaeology, BA(Hons) (Arts-Music), BA (Hons) (Applied Psychology), BA (Hons) (Drama and Theatre Studies) and BMus (Hons) programmes may apply for exemption, in first year only, to a maximum of 15 credits. This will enable students reduce their workload in the First Year of their programme.

Note: Exemption is not available in the BSocSc (Hons)*, BSocSc (Hons) (Youth and Community Work), BSW (Hons), BA (Hons) (Early Childhood Studies) or B.Ed (Sports Studies & Physical Education).

Students may apply to the College of Arts, Celtic Studies and Social Sciences for a 15 credit non-subject specific exemption if they have successfully completed one of the listed programmes within a 10 year period from the date of application for the exemption.


For the complete list of approved courses recognized for exemption please go to

Are there any scholarships available?

There are a range of scholarships available including the UCC Entrance Scholarships, The College of Arts, Celtic Studies and Social Science’s Mary Ryan Language Scholarship, Undergraduate Scholarships and International Scholarships.

 Please use the link below to access details on all scholarships.

View Disclaimer

College of Arts, Celtic Studies & Social Sciences

College Office, Room G31 ,Ground Floor, Block B, O'Rahilly Building, UCC