SEFS Alumni News Winter 2019

Process and Chemical Engineering Awards 2019

18 Dec 2019

The Annual Process and Chemical Awards night took place on 25 November. The department would like to say a very big thank you to all of the representatives from the industry award sponsors, Janssen, Eli Lilly, MSD Ballydine, AbbVie and PM Group for taking time out of their busy schedule to attend. Professor Ed Byrne Head of Discipline, Process and Chemical Engineering and Professor Liam Marnane, Head of School opened the event.  

Congratulations to all the students who were presented with very well deserved awards throughout the night.

PM Group, Design Award (Individual) presented by:

Tara Murphy, Senior Process Engineer
Kevin Gibson, Senior Process Engineer

2019 Winner:

  • Vivienne Barry (Graduated 2019)

AbbVie Award for Excellence in Engineering presented by:-

Gary Crowley, Site Director, AbbVie.

2019 Winner:

  • Ryan Patrick O’ Sullivan (Graduated 2019)

Eli Lilly Awards for Excellence in Engineering presented by:

Gordon Flanagan:  Process Engineering Team Lead

2019 Award Winners:

  • Second-year: Cillian Desmond              
  • Third-year: Brian O’ Callaghan         
  • Fourth-year: Emer Twohig                    

Janssen Scholarship presented by:-

Alan Bateman: Make Asset Management Site Lead Janssen Pharmaceutical Companies of J&J

2019 Winner:

  • Clodagh Hayes (second-year)

MSD Ballydine Award for Best Poster in Pharmaceutical Engineering presented by:-

Paul Philips:  Commercialisation Project Lead, Ballydine

2019 Winner:

  • Sarah O’ Leary (third-year)

Special acknowledgement goes to Dr Denis Ring and Ms Claire O'Sullivan for organising this very successful event.


Alumni and Development

Alumni agus Forbartha

University College Cork, 2.12 Western Gateway Building, Western Road, Cork, T12 XF62, Ireland