Academic Board

Academic Board

Academic Board

Academic Board

The senior University Standing Committee of Academic Council, established in University statute, responsible for the discharge of functions delegated to it by Council and for the formulation of strategy and policy to meet the University’s education and research objectives. The Academic Board, as the senior Standing Committee of Council, shall consider and consult on business from other Council Standing Committees and College Councils prior to bringing forward policy recommendations and proposals to Council for approval. The Board shall also bring to the attention of Council developments in the national and international higher education arena concerning academic affairs, staff and student matters and may recommend institutional responses as appropriate.  The Board shall undertake any other duties or tasks assigned to it by Council from time to time.

Academic Board Meeting Documentation (UCC Staff only)

Meeting Dates

Academic Board Meeting Dates, 2018-19

Wednesday (unless stated otherwise)

Time: 10.00

Venue: Council Room
12 September 2018  Council Room
24 October 2018  Council Room
05 December 2018  Council Room
06 February 2019  Council Room
17 April 2019  Council Room
19 June 2019  Council Room

Cover Sheets

Academic Board Cover Sheet Templates

When submitting items to Academic Board please use one of the following coversheets as appropriate:


Academic Board Membership

Term of Office: 3 years

Chair: Deputy President and Registrar (as appointed by the President) Professor John O'Halloran

Ex Officio:
Vice President for Teaching and Learning, Professor Paul McSweeney
Vice President for Research and Innovation Professor Anita Maguire
Head of Student Experience, Mr Paul Moriarty
Head of Student Records and Examinations, Dr Siobhan Cusack
Head of Academic Programmes and Regulations, Ms Eleanor Fouhy

Heads of College
Professor Chris Williams
Professor Ursula Kilkelly
Professor Paul Ross
Professor Helen Whelton

Chairs of Academic Council Committees and Sub Committees
Professor Sarah Culloty
Professor David Sammon
Dr Joan Buckley
Dr Fiona Chambers
Dr Louise Crowley
Dr Patricia Leahy-Warren
Dr Rob McAllen
Dr Orla Murphy
Dr Mark Chu
Dr Ed Shinnick
Dr Darius Whelan

Director of the Quality Enhancement Unit Ms Elizabeth Noonan
Dean of Graduate Studies Dr Ruth Ramsay
Dean of Undergraduate Studies Professor Stephen Byrne
Academic Secretary & Assistant Registrar Mr Paul O'Donovan
Director of Adult Continuing Education Dr Seamus O Tuama
Student Union President
Student Union Education Officer
Student Union Postgraduate Officer

4 members of Academic Council, one from each College, nominated by Academic Council
Professor David Ryan
Professor Alan Morrison
Dr Ronan Carbery
Dr Eoin Fleming

Co-opted members:
Up to 3 members approved by Academic Council
Dr Francis Burke
Professor William O'Brien (appointed 18-04-18)
Dr Karl Kitching (appointed 10-11-17)


Academic Secretary & Assistant Registrar

Committee Secretary: Ms Aoife Ni Neill

Composition approved by Academic Council, 28th January 2011

Sub Committees

Academic Board Sub Committees

  • IMI-UCC Joint Programme Development and Approval Committee (JPDAC)
  • CIT-UCC Joint Board 
  • UCC-Turning Point Institute Joint Academic Standards Committee (JASC)



Academic Secretariat

Rúnaíocht Acadúil

West Wing, UCC