Some lectures still take place here.
However, many administrative offices are located here too. The Office of the Registrar and Vice-President for Academic Affairs, The Admissions Office, Examinations and Records Office and the Graduate Studies Office are just some of the offices found in the West Wing.
The North Wing boasts impressive and unique inscribed Ogham stones.
There are 28 stones, the largest collection on public display in Ireland, dating back to the mid fifth and late seventh centuries.
The inscriptions are the earliest written source of the Irish language.
The UCC Visitors’ Centre is located here.
The East Wing was once the house of the President of the University.
Today the East Wing is home to many administrative Offices including the President’s office.
The Aula Maxima (Great Hall) is the venue for many formal events - honorary conferrings, concerts, recitals and banquets.
The window on the east wall commemorates George Boole (1815-1864), the first Professor of Mathematics at UCC, whose algebra became the foundation of modern computer science.
The ‘Professor’s Window’ on the north wall is dedicated to the memory of Robert Harkness, Professor of Geology at UCC in 1853.
The tower clock was installed in 1851 by renowned Cork jeweller and clockmaker, James Mangan.
The Crawford Observatory dates from 1880.
The University acquired the Observatory through the generosity of several benefactors. One of them, William Crawford, contributed £1,000 towards its construction and the purchase of astronomical instruments.
The Observatory houses an equatorial telescope, one for which Howard Grubb, who made it, received a Gold Medal at the Paris Exhibition of 1900.
It also contains a Ciderostatic telescope and Spectroscope.
The O'Rahilly Building has been carefully designed to complement the architecture of the white limestone Quadrangle. This building is home to the College of Arts, Celtic Studies and Social Sciences, the Faculty of Commerce and the UCC Language Centre.
The Students’ Union Common Room, called “The Stables”, is a space where students can relax and meet without the need to spend money. The Stables offers an open plan social space with sofas, 4 large screen TVs with SKY+ and PS3s and a pool table, as well as all the normal utilities such as vending machines, tea/coffee making facilities and a microwave oven.
The Honan Chapel was opened in 1916 and is famous for its mosaic floor and its nineteen stained glass windows, crafted by the late Harry Clarke and artists from the Sarah Purser studio.
The exterior is in the architectural style known as 'Hiberno-Romanesque'.