Photo taken in a Roman catacomb.


We have received funding from The Heritage Council / An Chomhairle Oidhreachta to make our ongoing searchable database of Historical Dictionary of Gaelic Placenames available online.


Contact Info
an image

Locus Project,
c/o Roinn na Sean- agus na Meán-Ghaeilge,
Coláiste na hOllscoile,
Email: Dr Kevin Murray

Phone: +353-21-490 3192
Fax: +353-21-490 3102


Welcome / Fáilte!

The aim of this project is to produce a new historical dictionary of Irish placenames and tribal names to replace Fr Edmund Hogan's Onomasticon Goedelicum. The Locus Project is based in the Department of Early and Medieval Irish at University College Cork, Ireland.

We have previously received funding from Toyota Ireland Ltd., from the Higher Education Authority, from the Irish Research Council for the Humanities and Social Sciences (IRCHSS), from An Roinn Gnóthaí Pobail, Tuaithe agus Gaeltachta and from The Heritage Council.

Four volumes of the Historical Dictionary of Irish Placenames have been published to date by the Irish Texts Society along with the proceedings of a one-day seminar on Hogan's Onomasticon and a bibliography of publications on Irish placenames (see publications).

The basis of our work is Edmund Hogan's Onomasticon Goedelicum, published in 1910. Read more...


Director: Prof. Pádraig Ó Riain.
Editors: Prof. Pádraig Ó Riain, Dr Diarmuid Ó Murchadha†, Dr Kevin Murray, Dr Emma Nic Cárthaigh
Assistant editor: Mr Kenneth Nicholls.
Research associate [2013]: Dr Joseph Flahive.
Database consultants (funded by The Heritage Council [2010]): Ms Emer Purcell and Dr Joseph Flahive.
Former doctoral student (funded by An Roinn Gnóthaí Pobail, Tuaithe agus Gaeltachta [2006-9]): Dr Emma Nic Cárthaigh.
Former IRCHSS scholars: Dr Donna Thornton, Dr Emma Nic Cárthaigh [2003-6] and Dr Joseph Flahive [2004-5].
Former HEA scholar: Dr Donna Thornton [1999-2002].
Former Toyota scholars: Dr Petra S. (Tina) Hellmuth [1998-2001], Dr Aideen O'Leary and Dr Kevin Murray [1996-8].
Post-graduate students (past and present): Dr Clodagh Ní Dhubhnaigh, Dr Emma Nic Cárthaigh, Mr Diarmaid Ó Lonargáin, Ms Jutta Libera, Ms Soili Lintunen, Dr Philip Bernhardt-House, Ms Jane Sullivan and Mr Michael O'Callaghan.

In memory of the late Dr Diarmuid Ó Murchadha (1928-2012), Editor, Historical Dictionary of Irish Placenames
Foreword from Festschrift on the occasion of his 80th birthday (JCHAS vol. 113 (2008)


Funded by

IRCHSSThe Heritage Council
Documents of Ireland, UCCHigher Education Authority, Ireland
Toyota IrelandDepartment of Community, Equality and Gaeltacht Affairs