People & Awards

NB : Please prepend the following numbers to the telephone extensions when calling:

  • '420' if outside UCC
  • '021-420' if outside Cork
  • '353-21-420' if outside Ireland
Department Office Phone: +353(0)21 420-5892 
Fax:     +353(0)21 420-5367
E-mail: secretary@cs.ucc.ie
Executive Assistant Ms. Julie Walsh / Margaret Hynes 
Extn: 5892
Email: secretary@cs.ucc.ie
Administrator Ms. Ann O'Brien, MSc 
Extn: 5888
Email: a.obrien@cs.ucc.ie
Non-EU Programmes Dr. Joseph Manning
Extn: 5909
Email: j.manning@cs.ucc.ie
Work Placement Dr. John Herbert
Extn: 5925
Email: j.herbert@cs.ucc.ie
CK401:
BSc in Computer Science
BSc in Computer Science (Web Systems Engineering)
Dr. Kieran Herley
Extn: 5805
Email: k.herley@cs.ucc.ie
HDip Applied Computing Technology Dr. Steve Prestwich
Extn: 5911
Email: s.prestwich@cs.ucc.ie
MSc Computing Science Dr. Marc van Dongen
Extn: 5903
Email: m.vandongen@cs.ucc.ie
MSc Software & Systems for Mobile Networks Dr. Marc van Dongen
Extn: 5903
Email: m.vandongen@cs.ucc.ie
MSc Interactive Media Mr. David Murphy
Extn: 5908
Email: d.murphy@cs.ucc.ie

 

NamePositionRoomPhoneEmail
Boehme, Frank Lecturer G-60 420-5916 f.boehme@cs.ucc.ie
Bowen, James Professor G-50 420-5914 Phone +353 21 420 5892 to ask for my email address
Bridge, Derek Senior Lecturer G-61 420-5907 d.bridge@cs.ucc.ie
Brookes, Leslie Administrative Officer 1-28D 420-5893 l.brookes@cs.ucc.ie
Brown, Ken Senior Lecturer 2-64 420-5952 k.brown@cs.ucc.ie
Doherty, James Lecturer 1-72 420-5929 j.doherty@cs.ucc.ie
Fleming, Martin Systems Administrator 1-20 420-5894 m.fleming@cs.ucc.ie
Foley, Simon N. Senior Lecturer G-65 420-5923 s.foley@cs.ucc.ie
Freuder, Eugene C. Research Professor 2-61, 4C 420-5956 e.freuder@4c.ucc.ie
Grigoras, Dan Senior Lecturer G-69 420-5918 d.grigoras@cs.ucc.ie
Healy, Eoin A. Lecturer G-62 420-5913 e.healy@cs.ucc.ie
Herbert, John Senior Lecturer 1-78 420-5925 j.herbert@cs.ucc.ie
Herley, Kieran Lecturer G-63 420-5905 k.herley@cs.ucc.ie
Hynes, Margaret Executive Assistant (Job-Share) 1-28 420-5890/5892 m.hynes@cs.ucc.ie
Lenihan, Thomas Senior Technician 1-21 420-5901 t.lenihan@cs.ucc.ie
Manning, Joseph Lecturer 1-80 420-5909 j.manning@cs.ucc.ie
McCormack, Colin Lecturer G-68 420-5917 c.mccormack@cs.ucc.ie
Moriarty, Martin Systems Administrator 1-20 420-5896 m.moriarty@cs.ucc.ie
Morrison, John P. Professor 2-50 420-5944 j.morrison@cs.ucc.ie
Murphy, David Lecturer 1-77 420-5908 d.murphy@cs.ucc.ie
O'Brien, Ann Administrator 1-28 420-5888 a.obrien@cs.ucc.ie
O'Byrne, David Computing Systems Manager 1-20 420-5895 d.obyrne@cs.ucc.ie
O'Mullane, John Lecturer G-72 420-5920 j.omullane@cs.ucc.ie
O'Riordan, Adrian Lecturer G-71 420-5906 a.oriordan@cs.ucc.ie
O'Rourke, Billy Systems Administrator 1-20 420-5897 b.orourke@cs.ucc.ie
O'Sullivan, Barry Professor, Head of Department 2-65 420-5951 b.osullivan@cs.ucc.ie
Pitt, Ian Lecturer 1-79 420-5904 i.pitt@cs.ucc.ie
Prestwich, Steve Lecturer G-67 420-5911 s.prestwich@cs.ucc.ie
Provan, Gregory Professor 1-71 420-5928 g.provan@cs.ucc.ie
Russell, Gavin Lecturer G-73 420-5910 g.russell@cs.ucc.ie
Schellekens, Michel Professor 2-55 420-5941 m.schellekens@cs.ucc.ie
Sorensen, Humphrey Senior Lecturer 1-73 420-5902 h.sorensen@cs.ucc.ie
Sreenan, Cormac Professor 1-75 420-5930 cjs@cs.ucc.ie
Tabirca, Sabin Senior Lecturer 1-81 420-5915 s.tabirca@cs.ucc.ie
Timon, Derbhile Department Manager 1-28C 420-5891 csmanager@cs.ucc.ie
van Dongen, Marc Lecturer 1-74 420-5903 m.vandongen@cs.ucc.ie
Vaughan, John Senior Lecturer G-64 420-5922 j.vaughan@cs.ucc.ie
Walsh, Julie Executive Assistant (Job-Share) 1-28 420-5889/5892 j.walsh@cs.ucc.ie

 

NamePositionLocation (WGB)PhoneEmail
Al-Bado, Mustafa Researcher 2-60, 4C 420-5965 m.albado@4c.ucc.ie
Arbelaez, Alejandro Researcher 215B, 4C 420-5375 a.arbelaez@4c.ucc.ie
Armant, Vincent Researcher 2-70, 4C 420-5972  v.armant@4c.ucc.ie
Bean, Stephen Researcher 1-20 420-5936 s.bean@cs.ucc.ie
Cafferkey, Neil Researcher 215E, 4C 420-5378 neil.cafferkey@insight-centre.org
Climent Aunes, Laura Researcher 215A, 4C 420-5374 l.climent@4c.ucc.ie
Davern, Paul Researcher 2-69, 4C 420-5960 p.davern@cs.ucc.ie
Dwane-Magnier, Maureen Administrator 2-51, BCRI/CUC 420-5946 m.dwane@bcri.ucc.ie
Freuder, Eugene Professor

2-61, 4C

420-5956

 e.freuder@4c.ucc.ie

Grimes, Diarmuid  Researcher 2-15F, 4C  420-5379  d.grimes@4c.ucc.ie
Healy, Philip Researcher 2-22, BCRI 420-5935 p.healy@cs.ucc.ie
Hennessy, Aoife Researcher 2-18A, CEOL 420-5380 a.hennessy@cs.ucc.ie
Hoare, Cathal Researcher 2-69, 4C 420-5960 c.hoare@cs.ucc.ie
Hossain, Mahtab Researcher 2-09D, MISL 420-5396 m.hossain@cs.ucc.ie
Kaminskas, Marius Researcher 2-70, 4C 420-5972 m.kaminskas@4c.ucc.ie
Kennedy, James Researcher 2-22, BCRI 420-5933 j.kennedy@cs.ucc.ie
Kotthoff, Lars Researcher 2-15B, 4C 420-5375 larsko@4c.ucc.ie
MacHale, Peter Systems Manager 2-68,4C 420-5959 p.machale@4c.ucc.ie
Malitsky, Yuri PostDoc Researcher 2-15A, 4C 420-5374 y.malitsky@4c.ucc.ie
Manna, Carlo Researcher 2-15E, 4C 420-5378 c.manna@4c.ucc.ie
Manzano, Oscar Researcher 2-15F, 4C 420-5379 o.manzano@4c.ucc.ie
Metha, Deepak Researcher 2-15C, 4C 420-5376 d.mehta@4c.ucc.ie
Noonan, Mary Administrative Staff 2-09, MISL 420-5912 m.noonan@cs.ucc.ie
Ngwa, Chris Business Development 2-66, 4C 420-5957 c.ngwa@4c.ucc.ie
O'Keeffe, Mike Researcher 2-15D, 4C 420-5961 mike.okeeffe@insight-centre.org
O'Riordan, Eleanor Administrator 2-63, 4C 420-5954 e.oriordan@4c.ucc.ie
O'Sullivan, Linda Lab Manager 2-63, 4C 420-5991 los@4c.ucc.ie
O’Toole, Liam Software Engineer 2-53, 4C 420-5966 l.otoole@4c.ucc.ie
Ozturk, Cemalettin Researcher 2-15D, 4C 420-5377 cemalettin.ozturk@insight-centre.org
Popovici, Emanuel Researcher CEOL 420-2027 e.popovici@ucc.ie
Power, David Researcher 2-22, BCRI 420-5932 d.power@cs.ucc.ie
Quesada, Luis Researcher 2-15C, 4C 420-5376 l.quesada@4c.ucc.ie
Scanlon, Joe Systems Administrator 2-59, 4C 420-5964 j.scanlon@4c.ucc.ie
Simonin, Gilles Researcher 215A, 4C 420-5374 g.simonin@4c.ucc.ie
Simonis, Helmut Researcher 2-54, 4C 420-5967 h.simonis@4c.ucc.ie
Stynes, David Researcher 2-60 4C 420-5965 d.stynes@4c.ucc.ie
Trablesi, Walid Researcher 2-15F, 4C 420-5379 w.trablesi@4c.ucc.ie
Wahbi, Mohammed Researcher 2-70, 4C 420-5972 m.wahbi@4c.ucc.ie
Wallace, Richard Researcher 2-62,4C 420-5955 r.wallace@4c.ucc.ie
Walsh, Caitriona Admin Staff 2-18C, CEOL 420-5943

 cw7@cs.ucc.ie

Walsh, Caitriona Admin Staff 2-63, 4C 420-5953 c.walsh@4c.ucc.ie
Wilson, Nic Researcher 2-67, 4C 420-5958 n.wilson@4c.ucc.ie
NamePositionLocation (WGB)PhoneEmail
(Barry) Sherry, Mary Postgrad 2-08 420-5980 mbarry@wit.ie
Abdi, Samane Postgrad 2-15, 4C 420-5978 s.abdi@4c.ucc.ie
Abdul, Razak Postgrad 2-15, 4C 420-5968 a.razak@4c.ucc.ie
Alshareef, Hazzaa Postgrad 2-09, MISL 420-5982 haz3@cs.ucc.ie
Arokkiam, Jerome Postgrad 2-15, 4C 420-5978 jerome@4c.ucc.ie
Clayton, Brian Postgrad 2-22, CUC/BCRI 420-5934 b.clayton@cs.ucc.ie
Devlin, David Postgrad 2-15, 4C 420-5968 d.devlin@4c.ucc.ie
De Cauwer, Milan Postgrad 2-15, 4C 420-5968 mdecauwer@4c.ucc.ie
Dong, Dapeng Postgrad 209, MISL 420-5982 110220122@umail.ucc.ie
Enright, Therese Postgrad IT, Tralee   te1@cs.ucc.ie
Fajemisin, Adejuygbe Postgrad 2-15, 4C 420-5968 ade.fajemisin@insight-centre.org
Fitzgerald, Tadhg Postgrad 2-15, 4C 420-5979 tadhg.fitzgerald@insight-centre.org
Ghafoor, Saim Postgrad 215, 4C 420-5978 saim@4c.ucc.ie
Griffith, Josephine Postgrad Off Campus    
Hashemi, Mohammad Postgrad 2-09, MISL 420-5986 m.hashemi@cs.ucc.ie
Hoare, Cathal Postgrad 2-08 420-5981 hoare@cs.ucc.ie
Horan, John Postgrad 2-15, 4C 420-5968 j.horan@4c.ucc.ie
Huang, Weiping Postgrad 2-15, 4C 420-5968 weiping.huang@insight-centre.org
Hurley, Barry Postgrad 2-15, 4C 420-5978 b.hurley@4c.ucc.ie
Ji, Ma Postgrad 2-09   mj3@cs.ucc.ie
Malitskaia, Yulia Postgrad 2-15, 4C 420-5979 yulia.maliskaia@insight-centre.org
Murphy, Sean Og Postgrad 2-09, MISL 420-5982 jmms@student.cs.ucc.ie
Neville, Ultan Postgrad 2-15, 4C 420-5978 u.neville@4c.ucc.ie
O'Buadhachain , Seamus Postgrad 2-09, MISL 420-5983 sdob@cs.ucc.ie
O'Regan, Daniel Postgrad 2-22, CUC/BCRI 420-5938  
O'Reilly, Ruairi Postgrad 2-22, CUC/BCRI 420-5938 r.oreilly@cs.ucc.ie
O'Riordan, William Postgrad Off Campus    
O'Sullivan, Michael Postgrad 2-09, MISL 420-5983 m.osullivan@cs.ucc.ie
Pena, Francisco Postgrad 2-15, 4C 420-5978 francisco.pena@insight-centre.org
Quinlan, Jason Postgrad 2-09, MISL 420-5982 jasonjquinlan@me.com
Ryan, Conor Postgrad 2-15, 4C 420-5968 c.ryan@4c.ucc.ie
Tracey, David Postgrad Offsite    
Tsompanidis, Ilias Postgrad 2-09, MISL 420-5982 i.tsompanidis@umail.ucc.ie
Umer, Samreen Postgrad 2-15, 4C 420-5968 samreen.umer@insight-centre.org
Ye, Jing Hua Postgrad 2-08 420-5981 jhy1@cs.ucc.ie

UCC Staff Awards 2013 Ceremony

Leadership Award - Professor Barry O’Sullivan, Head of Department, Computer Science & Director, Cork Constraint Computation Centre (4C)

The Selection Committee determined that Barry should be honoured with a Leadership Award on the basis of his outstanding achievements across all of the criteria for this award category, in particular, his outstanding contribution both within and outside UCC in terms of international impact, raising UCC’s profile and attracting substantial research funding to UCC; mentoring research teams and students; and founding and developing significant new initiatives. The Selection Committee noted the impact of his research work beyond academia, including its impact on business, the economy and society - locally, nationally and at the highest international level.

Picture shows Prof. Barry O'Sullivan accepting a Leadership Award from UCC President Murphy.

Exceptional Citizen Award - Dr Sabin Tabirca, Department of Computer Science

The Selection Committee determined that Sabin should be honoured with an Exceptional Citizen Award on the basis of his outstanding contribution in promoting the introduction of Computer Science to post primary schools. The Munster Programme Training (MPT) initiative, now in its 10th year, which he spear-headed and to which he contributes in a voluntary capacity (delivering lectures and workshops to post primary pupils on Saturdays) has had a hugely positive impact on the pupils who participated (over 650 to date). His exceptional outreach work, including not only MPT, but also a series of dedicated ICT workshops for post primary school teachers and his expert and enthusiastic support for student projects, serves not only to enhance UCC’s reputation and to attract students to UCC, but also to spread critical ICT skills in the wider community.

Picture shows Dr Sabin Tabirca accepting his award for Exceptional Citizen at UCC Staff Awards 2013 Ceremony by President Michael Murphy.

Dr John O'Mullane - Award for Research into Innovative Forms of Teaching

Self-regulation is a learning process, consisting of the development of a
set of constructive behaviours that affect learning.

Through a mutual interest in investigating how the application of coaching psychology, instructional contexts, teaching strategies and technology enhanced learning can amplify the student experience, bydeveloping students as self-regulated learners, Dr John O'Mullane of the Department of Computer Science, with colleagues from Department of Statistics, Medicine and School of Applied Psychology have come together.

Picture below shows Computer Science staff accepting their respective awards. (From left to right, Prof. Barry O'Sullivan, UCC President Dr Michael Murphy, Dr John O'Mullane and Dr Sabin Tabirca

Picture shows, Prof. Barry O'Sullivan, President Michael Murphy, Dr John O'Mullane and Dr Sabin Tabirca accepting their awards at the recent UCC Staff Awards 2013 Ceremony

Close X