People & Awards

NB : Please prepend the following numbers to the telephone extensions when calling:

  • '420' if outside UCC
  • '021-420' if outside Cork
  • '353-21-420' if outside Ireland
Department Office Phone: +353(0)21 420-5892 
Fax:     +353(0)21 420-5367
E-mail: secretary@cs.ucc.ie
Executive Assistant Ms Julie Walsh / Margaret Hynes 
Extn: 5892
Email: secretary@cs.ucc.ie
Department Manager Ms Derbhile Timon
Extn: 5891
Email: csmanager@cs.ucc.ie
Schools Outreach Ms Ann O'Brien, MSc 
Extn: 5888
Email: a.obrien@cs.ucc.ie
Non-EU Programmes Dr Joseph Manning
Extn: 5909
Email: j.manning@cs.ucc.ie
Work Placement Dr John Herbert
Extn: 5925
Email: j.herbert@cs.ucc.ie
CK401:
BSc in Computer Science
BSc in Computer Science (Web Systems Engineering)
Dr Kieran Herley
Extn: 5805
Email: k.herley@cs.ucc.ie
HDip Applied Computing Technology Dr Steve Prestwich
Extn: 5911
Email: s.prestwich@cs.ucc.ie
MSc Computing Science Dr Marc van Dongen
Extn: 5903
Email: m.vandongen@cs.ucc.ie
MSc Software & Systems for Mobile Networks Dr Marc van Dongen
Extn: 5903
Email: m.vandongen@cs.ucc.ie
MSc Interactive Media Mr David Murphy
Extn: 5908
Email: d.murphy@cs.ucc.ie

 

NamePositionRoomPhoneEmail
Boehme, Frank Lecturer G-60 420-5916 f.boehme@cs.ucc.ie
Bowen, James Professor G-50 420-5914 Phone +353 21 420 5892 to ask for my email address
Bridge, Derek Senior Lecturer G-61 420-5907 d.bridge@cs.ucc.ie
Brookes, Leslie Administrative Officer 1-28D 420-5893 l.brookes@cs.ucc.ie
Brown, Ken Senior Lecturer 2-64 420-5952 k.brown@cs.ucc.ie
Doherty, James Lecturer 1-72 420-5929 j.doherty@cs.ucc.ie
Fleming, Martin Systems Administrator 1-20 420-5894 m.fleming@cs.ucc.ie
Foley, Simon N. Senior Lecturer G-65 420-5923 s.foley@cs.ucc.ie
Grigoras, Dan Senior Lecturer G-69 420-5918 d.grigoras@cs.ucc.ie
Herbert, John Senior Lecturer 1-78 420-5925 j.herbert@cs.ucc.ie
Herley, Kieran Lecturer G-63 420-5905 k.herley@cs.ucc.ie
Hynes, Margaret Executive Assistant (Job-Share) 1-28 420-5890/5892 m.hynes@cs.ucc.ie
Lenihan, Thomas Senior Technician 1-21 420-5901 t.lenihan@cs.ucc.ie
Manning, Joseph Lecturer 1-80 420-5909 j.manning@cs.ucc.ie
McCormack, Colin Lecturer G-68 420-5917 c.mccormack@cs.ucc.ie
Moriarty, Martin Systems Administrator 1-20 420-5896 m.moriarty@cs.ucc.ie
Morrison, John P. Professor 2-50 420-5944 j.morrison@cs.ucc.ie
Murphy, David Lecturer 1-77 420-5908 d.murphy@cs.ucc.ie
O'Brien, Ann Schools Outreach 1-28 420-5888 a.obrien@cs.ucc.ie
O'Byrne, David Computing Systems Manager 1-20 420-5895 d.obyrne@cs.ucc.ie
O'Mullane, John Lecturer G-72 420-5920 j.omullane@cs.ucc.ie
O'Riordan, Adrian Lecturer G-71 420-5906 a.oriordan@cs.ucc.ie
O'Rourke, Billy Systems Administrator 1-20 420-5897 b.orourke@cs.ucc.ie
O'Sullivan, Barry Professor, Head of Department 2-65 420-5951 b.osullivan@cs.ucc.ie
Pitt, Ian Lecturer 1-79 420-5904 i.pitt@cs.ucc.ie
Prestwich, Steve Lecturer G-67 420-5911 s.prestwich@cs.ucc.ie
Provan, Gregory Professor 1-71 420-5928 g.provan@cs.ucc.ie
Russell, Gavin Lecturer G-73 420-5910 g.russell@cs.ucc.ie
Schellekens, Michel Professor 2-55 420-5941 m.schellekens@cs.ucc.ie
Sorensen, Humphrey Senior Lecturer 1-73 420-5902 h.sorensen@cs.ucc.ie
Sreenan, Cormac Professor 1-75 420-5930 c.sreenan@cs.ucc.ie
Tabirca, Sabin Senior Lecturer 1-81 420-5915 s.tabirca@cs.ucc.ie
Timon, Derbhile Department Manager 1-28C 420-5891 csmanager@cs.ucc.ie
van Dongen, Marc Lecturer 1-74 420-5903 m.vandongen@cs.ucc.ie
Vaughan, John Senior Lecturer G-64 420-5922 j.vaughan@cs.ucc.ie
Walsh, Julie Executive Assistant (Job-Share) 1-28 420-5889/5892 j.walsh@cs.ucc.ie

 

NamePositionLocation (WGB)PhoneEmail
Abdul, Razak Research Staff 2-15, INSIGHT Centre 420-5968/5969 abdul.razak@insight-centre.org
Al-Bado, Mustafa Research Staff 2-60, INSIGHT Centre 420-5965 mustafa.albado@insight-centre.org
Arbelaez, Alejandro Research Staff 215B, INSIGHT Centre 420-5375 alejandro.arbelaez@insight-centre.org
Armant, Vincent Research Staff 2-70, INSIGHT Centre 420-5972 vincent.armant@insight-centre.org
Cafferkey, Neil Research Staff 215E, INSIGHT Centre 420-5378 neil.cafferkey@insight-centre.org
Castineiras, Ignacio Research Staff 215D, INSIGHT Centre 420-5377 ignacio.castineiras@insight-centre.org
Clayton, Brian Research Staff 2-22, CUC/BCRI 420-5934 b.clayton@cs.ucc.ie
Climent, Laura Research Staff 215A, INSIGHT Centre 420-5374 laura.climent@insight-centre.org
Davern, Paul Research Staff 2-69, INSIGHT Centre 420-5960 paul.davern@insight-centre.org
Dwane-Magnier, Maureen Administrator 2-51, BCRI/CUC 420-5946 m.dwane@bcri.ucc.ie
Grimes, Diarmuid Research Staff 2-15F, INSIGHT Centre 420-5379  diarmuid.grimes@insight-centre.org
Healy, Philip Research Staff 2-22, BCRI 420-5935 p.healy@cs.ucc.ie
Hossain, Mahtab Researcher 2-09D, MISL 420-5396 m.hossain@cs.ucc.ie
Kaminskas, Marius Research Staff 2-70, INSIGHT Centre 420-5972 marius.kaminskas@insight-centre.org
Kennedy, James Researcher 2-22, BCRI 420-5933 j.kennedy@cs.ucc.ie
Kotthoff, Lars Research Staff 2-15B, INSIGHT Centre 420-5375 lars.kotthoff@insight-centre.org
MacHale, Peter Systems Manager 2-68,INSIGHT Centre 420-5959 peter.machale@insight-centre.org
Manna, Carlo Research Staff 2-15E, INSIGHT Centre 420-5378 carlo.manna@insight-centre.org
Manzano, Oscar Research Staff 2-15F, INSIGHT Centre 420-5379 oscar.manzano@insight-centre.org
Mehta, Deepak Research Staff 2-15C, INSIGHT Centre 420-5376 deepak.mehta@insight-centre.org
Murphy, Sean Og Research Staff 2-15, INSIGHT Centre 420-5379 seanog.murphy@insight-centre.org
Noonan, Mary Administrative Staff 2-09, MISL 420-5912 m.noonan@cs.ucc.ie
Ngwa, Chrys Business Development Manager 2-66, INSIGHT Centre 420-5957 chrys.ngwa@insight-centre.org
O'Riordan, Eleanor Administrator 2-63, INSIGHT Centre 420-5954 eleanor.oriordan@insight-centre.org
O'Sullivan, Linda Lab Manager 2-63, INSIGHT Centre 420-5991 los@insight-centre.org
O’Toole, Liam Software Engineer 2-53, INSIGHT Centre 420-5966 liam.otoole@insight-centre.org
Ozturk, Cemalettin Research Staff 2-15D, INSIGHT Centre 420-5377 cemalettin.ozturk@insight-centre.org
Quesada, Luis Research Staff 2-15C, INSIGHT Centre 420-5376 luis.quesada@insight-centre.org
Scanlon, Joe Systems Administrator 2-59, INSIGHT Centre 420-5964 joe.scanlon@insight-centre.org
Saenz, Milda Research Staff 2-67, INSIGHT Centre 420-5958 milda.saenz@insight-centre.org
Simonin, Gilles Research Staff 215A, INSIGHT Centre 420-5374 gilles.simonin@insight-centre.org
Simonis, Helmut Research Staff 2-54, INSIGHT Centre 420-5967 helmut.simonis@insight-centre.org
Stynes, David Research Staff 2-60 INSIGHT Centre 420-5965 david.stynes@insight-centre.org
Truong, Thuy Research Staff 2-09, MISL Research 420-5396 tt11@cs.ucc.ie
Wahbi, Mohammed Research Staff 2-70, INSIGHT Centre 420-5972 mohammed.wahbi@insight-centre.org
Wallace, Richard Research Staff 2-62,INSIGHT Centre 420-5955 richard.wallace@insight-centre.org
Walsh, Caitriona Admin Staff 2-63, INSIGHT Centre 420-5953 caitriona.walsh@insight-centre.org
Wilson, Nic Research Staff 2-67, INSIGHT Centre 420-5958 nic.wilson@insight-centre.org
NamePositionLocation (WGB)PhoneEmail
Abdi, Samane Postgrad 2-15, INSIGHT Centre 420-5978 samane.abdi@insight-centre.org
Abdollahpouri, Himan PhD Student 2-15, Insight Research 420-5979 himan.abdollahpouri@insight-centre.org
Alkhelaiwi, Aseel PhD Student 2-09, MISL Research 420-5983 aa8cs.ucc.ie
Alshareef, Hazzaa PhD Student 2-09, MISL Research 420-5982 haz3@cs.ucc.ie
Arokkiam, Jerome PhD Student 2-15, INSIGHT Centre 420-5968/5969 jerome.arokkiam@insight-centre.org
De Cauwer, Milan PhD Student 2-15, INSIGHT Centre 420-5978/5979 milan.decauwer@insight-centre.org
Devlin, David PhD Student 2-15, INSIGHT Centre 420-5978/5979 david.devlin@insight-centre.org
Dong, Dapeng PhD Student 209, MISL Research 420-5982 110220122@umail.ucc.ie
Enright, Therese Postgrad IT, Tralee   te1@cs.ucc.ie
Fajemisin, Adejuygbe PhD Student 2-15, INSIGHT Centre 420-5968/5969 ade.fajemisin@insight-centre.org
Fitzgerald, Tadhg PhD Student 2-15, INSIGHT Centre 420-5978/5979 tadhg.fitzgerald@insight-centre.org
Ghafoor, Saim PhD Student 215, INSIGHT Centre 420-5968/5969 saim.ghafoor@insight-centre.org
Griffith, Josephine Postgrad Off Campus    
Hashemi, Mohammad PhD Student 2-09, MISL Research 420-5986 m.hashemi@cs.ucc.ie
Hoare, Cathal PhD Student 2-08 420-5981 hoare@cs.ucc.ie
Horan, John PhD Student 2-15, INSIGHT Centre 420-5978/5979 john.horan@insight-centre.org
Huang, Weiping PhD Student 2-15, INSIGHT Centre 420-5968/5969 weiping.huang@insight-centre.org
Hurley, Barry PhD Student 2-15, INSIGHT Centre 420-5978/5979 barry.hurley@insight-centre.org
Malitskaia, Yulia MSc Student 2-15, INSIGHT Centre 420-5969 yulia.maliskaia@insight-centre.org
Montazery, Mojtaba PhD Student 2-15, INSIGHT Centre 420-5968/5969 mojtaba.montazery@insight-centre.org
Neville, Ultan PhD Student 2-15, INSIGHT Centre 420-5978/5957 ultan.neville@insight-centre.org
O'Buadhachain , Seamus PhD Student 2-09, MISL Research 420-5983 sdob@cs.ucc.ie
O Duinn, Padraig PhD Student 2-15, INSIGHT Centre 420-5978/5979 padraig.oduinn@insight-centre.org
O'Regan, Daniel Postgrad 2-22, CUC/BCRI 420-5938  
O'Reilly, Ruairi Postgrad 2-22, CUC/BCRI 420-5938 r.oreilly@cs.ucc.ie
O'Riordan, William Postgrad Off Campus    
O'Sullivan, Michael PhD Student 2-09, MISL Research 420-5983 mjjos1@gmail.com
Pakdel, Rezvan (Ziba) Postgrad 2-09, MISL Research 420-5986 r.pakdel@cs.ucc.ie
Pena, Francisco PhD Student 2-15, INSIGHT Centre 420-5978/5979 francisco.pena@insight-centre.org
Quinlan, Jason PhD Student 2-09, MISL Research 420-5982 jasonjquinlan@me.com
Ryan, Conor PhD Student 2-15, INSIGHT Centre 420-5968/5969 conor.ryan@insight-centre.org
Sasmaz, Ata MSc Student 2-15, INSIGHT Centre 420-5978/5979 ata.sasmaz@insight-centre.org
Sherwin, Jonathan PhD Student Off-Site, MISL Research Off-Site jonathan.sherwin@cit.ie
Tobin, Ena PhD Student 2-15, INSIGHT Centre 420-5968/5969 ena.tobin@insight-centre.org
Treacy, David PhD Student Off-Site, MISL Research Off-Site david.tracey@gmail.com
Tsompanidis, Ilias PhD Student 2-09, MISL Research 420-5982 it1@cs.ucc.ie
Umer, Samreen PhD Student 2-15, INSIGHT Centre 420-5968/5969 samreen.umer@insight-centre.org
Yuan, Bingchuan (Bruce) PhD Student 2-09, MISL Research 420-5982 ybc_bruce@hotmail.com

 

UCC Secures €47million for Scientific Research 

Professor Cormac Sreenan, Computer Science, UCC wins SFI award of €1,123,443 with a project investigating streaming video in the future Internet cjs210x200 Recent years have seen a dramatic increase in Internet video, which now represents over half of all consumer traffic and is set to reach 69% by 2017. Most video is delivered using the traditional Internet which was designed for an entirely different purpose. In addition, due to its popularity, video traffic is beginning to overload the global internet. These problems can result in poor video quality, or video start-up delays, or frequent pauses. This research will enhance the future Internet, enable high-quality Internet video, and yield costs savings for network operators. The project will leverage software-defined network concepts to create new algorithms and software for intelligent network resource allocation and video processing, resulting in improved quality of experience for viewers. Two post-doctoral researchers and three PhD students will be recruited for this 4-year project, which is a collaboration with industry partners Altobridge, AT&T (USA), and EMC.

More details on the recent SFI Funding Roll-Out

Ministers Bruton and Sherlock announce funding of €47 Million for Scientific Research.

  • Government funding will support 200 researcher positions working on 36 research projects involving over 62 companies
  • Major investment will support world-class research in key priority areas in Ireland.

Full Story

 

Biennial Distinguished Service Award of the Association for Constraint Programming

Professor Barry O'Sullivan has received a prestigious award. Ceremony to be held in Lyon, France during September 2014
 
Professor Barry O'Sullivan receives the prestigious biennial Distinguished Service Award of the Association for Constraint Programming award's purpose is to celebrate those CP [Constraint Programming] community members who have made exceptional contributions to the CP community. Barry recieves the award "for contributions to the field of constraint programming through sustained service providing multi-faceted and tireless leadership at the national, European and broader international level, and as the longest serving ACP president."
 
The award ceremony will take place at the 2014 International Conference on Principles and Practice of Constraint Programming, to be held in September in Lyon, France.
 
Professor Barry O'Sullivan

 

 

UCC Staff Awards 2013 Ceremony

Leadership Award - Professor Barry O’Sullivan, Head of Department, Computer Science & Director, Cork Constraint Computation Centre (4C)

The Selection Committee determined that Barry should be honoured with a Leadership Award on the basis of his outstanding achievements across all of the criteria for this award category, in particular, his outstanding contribution both within and outside UCC in terms of international impact, raising UCC’s profile and attracting substantial research funding to UCC; mentoring research teams and students; and founding and developing significant new initiatives. The Selection Committee noted the impact of his research work beyond academia, including its impact on business, the economy and society - locally, nationally and at the highest international level.

Picture shows Prof. Barry O'Sullivan accepting a Leadership Award from UCC President Murphy.

 

Exceptional Citizen Award - Dr Sabin Tabirca, Department of Computer Science

The Selection Committee determined that Sabin should be honoured with an Exceptional Citizen Award on the basis of his outstanding contribution in promoting the introduction of Computer Science to post primary schools. The Munster Programme Training (MPT) initiative, now in its 10th year, which he spear-headed and to which he contributes in a voluntary capacity (delivering lectures and workshops to post primary pupils on Saturdays) has had a hugely positive impact on the pupils who participated (over 650 to date). His exceptional outreach work, including not only MPT, but also a series of dedicated ICT workshops for post primary school teachers and his expert and enthusiastic support for student projects, serves not only to enhance UCC’s reputation and to attract students to UCC, but also to spread critical ICT skills in the wider community.

Picture shows Dr Sabin Tabirca accepting his award for Exceptional Citizen at UCC Staff Awards 2013 Ceremony by President Michael Murphy.

 

Award for Research into Innovative Forms of Teaching - Dr John O'Mullane, Department of Computer Science

Self-regulation is a learning process, consisting of the development of a
set of constructive behaviours that affect learning.

Through a mutual interest in investigating how the application of coaching psychology, instructional contexts, teaching strategies and technology enhanced learning can amplify the student experience, bydeveloping students as self-regulated learners, Dr John O'Mullane of the Department of Computer Science, with colleagues from Department of Statistics, Medicine and School of Applied Psychology have come together.

Picture below shows Computer Science staff accepting their respective awards. (From left to right, Prof. Barry O'Sullivan, UCC President Dr Michael Murphy, Dr John O'Mullane and Dr Sabin Tabirca

Picture shows, Prof. Barry O'Sullivan, President Michael Murphy, Dr John O'Mullane and Dr Sabin Tabirca accepting their awards at the recent UCC Staff Awards 2013 Ceremony

Close X